Home Sweet Home

Posted On July 20, 2008

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments Dropped 2 responses

We just got back from our week long vacation and for the first 15 minutes last night, it was such a relief to be home. After that, exhaustion took over and all we wanted to do was sleep.  This morning started pretty well until the girls woke up.  Now, there have been arguments about just about everything.  It makes me wonder if they were holding in all the arguments when we were away so that we wouldn’t just come home early.  It has also been a chore to try to get them to do their chores.  So, it leaves me wondering, did they get use to not having to do anything while we were away or are they just tired?

I remember going on family vacations when I was a kid and I don’t remember really arguing with my brother on those trips (we argued constantly normally).  But I also remember that part of coming home always involved unpacking and getting everything ready for the week when my parents would be going back to work.  Maybe I am just remembering it in a positive light, but I remember all of us chipping in to make things happen.  I think that it was even part of the agreement for going on vacation in the first place. 

Despite the difficulties that we are having now, we did all have a great time.  We played mad-libs in the car (which lead to the phrase “purple-nurple gerbil juice”), went to a bear farm (we got to pet a black bear cub) and got burnt on the beach.  For the tribe, I would say this was the perfect trip.

2 Responses to “Home Sweet Home”

  1. Wendy

    That’s great that you had fun. Even if they are fighting now. We went on vacation last week and the kids were fighting the whole time. In fact, they’re *still* fighting!

    BTW, I’ve got a big post coming tomorrow about step mothers and the Other. I could really use your POV.

    http:notesfromthesleepdeprived.blogspot.com

  2. Tricia

    Welcome home. It sounds like a wonderful vacation. I always have a hard time getting back into the swing after being away, especially if I’m tired and cranky. I love coming home but it’s also kind of like the day after Christmas and all the prep and excitement is gone.

Leave a Reply

