That better be a bloody good cake!

Posted On July 24, 2008

Filed under Bear, life, self

Comments Dropped 7 responses

I started a tradition about a year ago with making unique cakes for the girls’ birthdays.  I try to make a cake that is unique to the kid but they never say “Happy Birthday!” in huge letters.  But it has been part of the way that I show them that I care about them and that I think about them on their special day.  (These are the cakes for this year, mock if you must!)
The Mother Hen's gothic butterfly

The Mother Hen's Gothic Butterfly Cake

 

The Show's Frog Cake
The Show’s Frog Cake
The Tyrant's Tiger Cake

The Tyrant's Tiger Cake

 This year, I decided to make a cake for Bear.  Even though he said that he didn’t need a cake and really doesn’t make a big deal out of his birthday, I really wanted to do this.  I am truly embarrassed to say, I injured myself while making this cake. 

Bear's Panda Bear Cake
Bear’s Panda Bear Cake
While shaving the chocolate with a new chocolate shaving tool, with a fancy finger guard, I managed to slice a rather large hunk of skin off of my finger.  It bled a lot and still hurts pretty bad.  I really hope he likes the cake, because if not, it would only add insult to injury.  I am such a klutz!
7 Responses to “That better be a bloody good cake!”

  1. killlashandra

    Your cakes turned out great! I made a monster truck for my son’s 3rd birthday this past June and creating those unique cakes is harder than it looks. Yours turned out great. Your girls are privileged to get such special cakes. Like the panda one especially. 🙂

  2. Tricia

    Those cakes are masterpieces of the heart!

  3. April

    Oh they are great! That’s awesome that you do that for everyone!!

  4. Sprite's Keeper

    Wow, they look amazing, but worth bleeding for? Um, yeah, chocolate is always worth a little blood.
    So I guess Bear’s cake is brown and white and red all over? (Sorry, it came to mind!)

  5. Wendy

    True chefs always carry band-aids! I’m sure Bear loves it. They all look great!

  6. awickedstepmom

    He did love the cake and the kids loved eating it. The Mother Hen thinks the panda cake was my best ever! 🙂

  7. billandjill

    I like the frog. He looks squiggly.

Leave a Reply

