Who is my pretty girl?

Posted On July 29, 2008

Filed under family, life, parenting, self

Comments Dropped 4 responses

I was reading thisarticle today… and it really made me think.  How often do parents make an off-handed comment and cause their kids to doubt themselves?  How often do they do it on purpose? 

How many mothers out there are right now telling their daughters they are fat?  Even when they are not?  We put too much stock in body image and what others think of us.  My mother never told me I was fat or ugly.  Not even in an off-handed way.  I am so grateful to her that she did that.  I just wish I could tell my girls more often how pretty and wonderful they truly are.

4 Responses to “Who is my pretty girl?”

  1. Jen

    I could NOT imagine telling either of my girls anything negative about their appearance. Makes me ill. I will tell them they are pretty, but we’ll focus more on being a good person, and the importance of being kind/smart/loving.

  2. MamaGeek

    I hear ya. My Mother never once berated me, it truly is so sad.

  3. Wendy

    I worry about this a lot. I never ever deliberately tell the kids something to hurt them. But Noah’s a little chunky and I don’t want him to deal with the depression and lack of self esteem that I deal with on occasion.

    We were about to go out a few weeks ago and Maritessa freaked out because I wouldn’t let her wear make-up. She said she’s not pretty without it. I quickly realized she thought that because I’ve said I don’t look pretty without it.

    Then there are times like today when Noah was “galloping” down the hall at the hospital. I kept asking him to stop and he wouldn’t. So I told him to stop because he looked goofy. I know I shouldn’t have. But I don’t want him doing something like that at school because I don’t want him to be picked on. And it was really dorky, ‘kay?

  4. Sprite's Keeper

    I’m not in a position to wonder about that right now, because my daughter is too young to appreciate anything more than “no”, “more” and “Elmo”, but I was on the receiving end of it when I was seven and had a little bit of baby fat still left over. My sister was skinny as a rail and ate everything in sight. My grandfather made the comment in a restaurant that we worked well together. Lee ate everything and I gained the weight. I have never forgotten that remark.
    But therapy and voodoo have helped smooth the rough edges over time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

