Change

Posted On July 31, 2008

Filed under life, Out of my element

Comments Dropped 7 responses

Change always seems to come when we least expect it and when we are least ready for it.  Atleast that has been my experience.  Just when I get comfortable something comes along to change my life.  Some of the change has been for good and others not so good but, most of the time it is out of no where.

My friend, who happens to be Bear’s sister, has a huge decision to make, one that could change her life.  She has been a licensed day care provider out of her home for the past 7 years.  Lately, she has been feeling burnt out and has been struggling to maintain interest and energy for her job.  So, when she saw an add in the paper for a Head Start teacher on an Indian reservation, she decided to send out her resume.  She just earned her associate’s degree in Early childhood education last spring and it was one of the requirements for the job.  She got an interview and nailed it! 

The problem is that most of the kids that she will deal with are considered at risk.  Mostly because they live in a rural area and there is a lot of alcoholism.  She also has very strong Christian beliefs and is worried about stepping on the toes of Indian parents or if the beliefs will make it hard for her to relate to them.  There is a lot of racism and bad feelings between the Indians and Non-Indians in the area.

She was offered the job which would be a huge change for her.  First, she will have to deal with a 20 minute commute which she hasn’t done in over 7 years.  She will have to leave her “kids” behind that she has helped to raise for years.  One of the job requirements was that she complete her bachelor’s degree in education by 2013.  She can do it online and take one or two classes a semester with no problem.

Change can be so scary but I think it is a wonderful opportunity for her.  I think she can do some real good and when she completes her degree she will be able to do anything that she wants.  I asked her permission to blog about this, because I wanted to know what everyone else had to say about this.  I promised to pass all comments on to her, so please, chime in!

 

Update: She has set things up so that she can spend the day in the classroom observing on Monday.  So, she will be able to make an informed decision. 

Also, I made a bad assumption.  She does not have any religion anxieties.  (I would, but that is just me.)  She feels that she can share of herseld without ever preaching or bringing the subject up

7 Responses to “Change”

  1. Sprite's Keeper

    Wow, that is a huge change. I have heard from others that working on a reservation can be tough, the alchoholism is especially rampant in my friend’s tribe. I guess most of it depends on how emotionally invested your friend wants to become with these kids she’ll be teaching. The more she puts in, the more she’ll reap, but the bad stuff is often not filtered out. That’s a hard decision to make. If she thinks she can handle the cons of taking on such an undertaking, then it may be a good decision.

  2. adamsemail

    There is so much that could be said about change. Let me give you my two favorite quotes.
    1. The only constant in life is change.
    2. We don’t see thing’s the way they are, we see things the way we are.

    I am in my 40’s now, but when I was 29, my world turned upside down. Long story short, after losing my wife and kids and getting out of the military, I moved home with my parents in Michigan. I cried a lot. I drank too much. I told my Dad “I’ve been places most people will never go. I’ve done things most people would never be able to do. I’ve created life and I’ve taken life. If I did right now, I’d be o.k. with that because I’ve lived a full life. Anything from here on out is a second life.”

    Now, I’m working on my second novel. I’ve got a great job in Washington D.C., and I am married to my best friend. My wife is awesome and every day I wake up next to her is a blessing.

    The only constant in life is change. It’s when we get hung up and too scared to change, that we get hurt.

  3. Tricia

    Sometimes we’re presented with tremendous opportunity to truly make a difference in the lives of other people. Grab it and go, but only if she believes she won’t sacrifice her own family life in the process, and if she truly believes she has the strength to develop the cultural competency it will take to look outside her own strong belief system to work within a community where the religious and cultural norms are different. Maybe I misunderstand, but if she’s worried about stepping on parent’s toes because of her Christian beliefs does that mean she wants to share those beliefs within the educational setting rather than learn how to work effectively within the native culture?

  4. Wendy

    “There is a lot of racism and bad feelings between the Indians and Non-Indians in the area.”

    She has a real opportunity to change the thinking of the next generation. Usually bad feelings and racism come from not understanding the other side. She could ask the people who hired her whether or not they want her to discuss religion. If not, then no religion should ever be discussed in the class. Send her my well wishes. I hope she does take the job.

  5. awickedstepmom

    I don’t think she would deliberlately share her religous beliefs. But, if she said, “Thank God, that your child is feeling better.” Or something like that..

  6. MamaGeek

    It IS an opportunity and you are right change is inevitable. Grab it by the horns when you can and go.

  7. Tricia

    It really does sound exciting. A huge change, but sometimes shaking up life is a wonderful thing! Good luck to her and wishing her all the best.

Leave a Reply

