“She’ll make you sit on your hands!”

On occasion, the girls get pretty physical with each other.  They will push, punch and slap if they get angry enough.  A while back, The Tyrant was getting really rough with The Show while they were in the back seat.  They had been fighting for hours and it had turned to The Tyrant hitting The Show and The Show hitting back.  I had asked them twice to stop and I was running out of ideas.

Finally, I said “Alright, I have had enough, sit on your hands both of you.  If you can’t keep your hands to yourselves, you will sit on them to remind you not to hit.”  They both did, but The Tyrant started to cry.  She cried hard for the entire time that she was required to sit on her hands.  It was roughly 3 minutes, but it may have been a little longer.

The other day, The Show and The Mother Hen were really squabbling.  Finally, when we were in the car, for an hour drive, it turned physical.  They started slapping each other.  I said, “Hands to yourselves!”  The Tyrant said, “You guys better do it or she will make you sit on your hands.  And it REALLY sucks!”

 

Also, update on my Change post.  Bear’s sister will be taking the job.  I am so excited for her!  Thanks for all your input!

2 Responses to ““She’ll make you sit on your hands!””

  1. sammanthia

    I’ll have to remember that one when my kids are trying to whack each other with toy swords!

  2. Wendy

    I can see now all the good it would do for me to tell my kids to sit on their hands. Zip. Nada. Zilch. Tessa might, but Noah’s soooo stubborn. It was a great idea though, and I’m glad it worked for you.

    Glad she took the job! Keep us updated!

Leave a Reply

