Football is back!

Posted On August 20, 2008

Filed under bonding time, family, life

Comments Dropped 4 responses

I am soo glad that football is back!  I look forward to this starting in February!  I am the commissioner for my fantasy football league.  And every year, I get some tons of phone calls, text messages and e-mails during the month of August.  The following is a list of some of the requests/questions I have gotten over the past few years.

1) “Can we add more bench slots? ”

2) “I know we pick randomly who goes first for the draft, but since I won last year, can I go first?”

3) “For this years first pick, I would like your pasta salad with no peppers, quarterback, [WickedStepMom]’s kitchen”

4) “Could you pick my players for me?  This way if I lose, I can blame you”

5) “If I don’t get Peyton Manning, can I kick someone’s butt?”

Keep in mind that all of these people are related to me in some way, which I think makes this whole process scarier.  Especially in the first few rounds of the draft.  If you have never been to a live fantasy football draft, imagine being on a street corner in ancient Rome where there is a bazaar and everyone within a 50 foot radius is trying to purchase the same thing while yelling at the top of theirlungs.  The girls are going to be there for the first time this year and The Mother Hen is gong to play.  I will let you know how it goes, but I have a feeling that the kids are going to get right in the mix of the chaos.

4 Responses to “Football is back!”

  1. Sprite's Keeper

    My husband is wondering if he should join the league at his work, but he’s such an 11th hour fan, it’s not worth it. I just follow the Patriots. They will win it all this year. They owe me.

  2. Wendy

    I’m so glad Thomas would rather watch men beat each other to a bloody pulp than have anything to do with football. I might like it if I could ever figure the game out!

  3. awickedstepmom

    I am from Detroit, so I am a Lions fan. I know, I know… its the Lions but, I can’t help my loyalty.

  4. Jamie

    I don’t know ANYTHING about fantasy football….. sounds like fun though!!!

Leave a Reply

