Why we vote

Posted On September 4, 2008

Filed under life, self, soap box

Comments Dropped 3 responses

I received an e-mail forward from my aunt today.  Normally, I just delete these e-mails because she sends to many and they usually have an ending line of “Send this to 50 billion people in 5 minutes or your will die and have bad luck FOREVER!” But, I must admit that the title of it caught my attention and I had to read it.  It simply said, “Why Women Can Vote.”

 

So, I started reading it and then forwarded it to The Show and The Mother Hen.  (The Tyrant only accepts pictures of tigers in her e-mail. Long story, will explain a different time.)  But I have been thinking about it all day.  Its only been since 1920 that women were even allowed to vote and most woman look at it as a chore, less than 100 years later.  Did it take less than a century for us to forget the battle that was fought?  When did we stop teaching our daughters about Alice Paul and Lucy Burns?

On November 15, 1917, several women in Occoquan Workhouse survived what is now known as the Night of Terror.  The officers decided to teach the women a lesson because they were on a hunger strike in jail.  The beat them and force feed them by shoving tubs down their throats.  The suffered all night long because they were fighting for what they believed in.  

 

Alice Paul

Alice Paul

Lucy Burns

Lucy Burns

Picketing the White House

3 Responses to “Why we vote”

  1. Sprite's Keeper

    Bravo! The election is only 2 months away. We need to listen closely to what’s being said out there and cast our votes.

  2. Sam (The Edge Of Insanity)

    I’m embarrassed to admit I’ve never heard of them… now I’m gonna have to google it. I love reading about history, last week I watched The Other Boleyn Girl and was on the internet for over an hour reading about Anne Boleyn. I’m weird like that.
    If I don’t get anything done today, can I blame it on you?

  3. Tricia

    Thanks for this. I think it’s important to remember! I still remember the feelings I had of power, of having a voice, and of incredible civic pride the first time I stepped into a voting booth. My parents helped me to develop that sense of civic pride and responsibility, I too, hope we do a better job of passing along to our daughters, and our sons. Americans have been apathetic about voting, maybe this November people will find their voice.

Leave a Reply

