Stop it, You’re Embarrassing Me!

Posted On September 12, 2008

Filed under life, self, The Spin Cycle

Comments Dropped 8 responses

As a kid, I was always shy.  I would hide behind my parents legs whenever I met new people.  I always spoke very softly and often went unnoticed.  At family gatherings, in a house full of out-spoken people, the adults would often look around and say, “Where’s [WickedStepMom]?”  I always preferred to be over looked and unnoticed.

My mother, who has never been shy of afraid of anyone, spent a lot of energy trying to break me out of my shell.  She always wanted me to stand up for myself and make myself noticed becasue I got walked on a lot.  After all this woman, as a girl refused to move out of the way when a bully wanted her to move.  She was standing at the play-ground with her older sister when an older kid on a bike told her to move out of the way or she would get run over.  My mom, despite her sister’s protest, stood her ground even when the kid rammed into her, really trying to run her over.  Even today, this is still my favorite story about her. 

As I grew, she tried harder and harder to break me out of my shyness.  She would dance and sing through the isle ways at grocery store to try to get me to join in.  She would talk to strangers, make a lot of noise and generally try to get people’s attention.  She never cared if they thought she was crazy.  “I doubt I will every see these people again,” she would always tell me.  

There was one time, back when Tickle Me Elmo was all the rage.  She pouted in K-mart and threatened to throw a temper tantrum if she couldn’t continue to play with and talk to Tickle Me Cookie Monster “for just a little while longer.”  She even carried him around in the cart for a while just so she could play with him,  (In case you are wondering, yes, she did get a TMX Elmo from my Dad for X-mas last year.  I even helped him track one down.)

Over the years, she has made me turn red on several occasions.  A few times, I was even convinced I would die, right there are on the spot.  I survived and even eventually came out of my shell.

I was even daring enough to take the stage in a high school play as a teenager.  She and my Dad came opening night.  After the play, they gave me a doen roses.  The card inside, was in her hand-writting and it simply said, “You are special.”  I still have that card tucked away in a treasure box.

The one day that will stick in my memory forever was not too long ago.  We were in the grocery store together and I started dancing in the isle way.  She looked at me, full of shock and in her best mom voice said, “Stop it! You’re embarrassing me!”  I completelt lost it.  I laughed until I cried and she was laughing with me.  We laughed until our sides hurt and people were staring at us.  I didn’t even care.

I am not snarky, loud, confident, and out-spoken.  I only hesitate for a moment when Bear and I butt-wiggle through the mall.  We walklike monkey’s at the zoo and scream songs at the top of our lungs in public.  I rarely have a shell anymore.  I know that it is in no small part because of my mom.

8 Responses to “Stop it, You’re Embarrassing Me!”

  1. Sprite's Keeper

    I like your mom! She’s wonderful and cared so much about your happiness and helping you break that shell! That’s lovely of her, and embarrassment I would gladly suffer any day. You’re linked!

  2. Tricia

    What a great story about your mom! She sounds wonderful.

  3. Casey

    Your mom sounds like a riot. My mom used to embarrass me when she would talk to total strangers in stores but now I find myself doing it sometimes.

  4. Allinole

    Your mom sounds wonderful

  5. Medea

    I love this post. It’s one of the loveliest things I’ve read or heard in a long time.

  6. Mike

    My dad was like your mom. Never met a stranger, everyone was his friend. My mom was much quieter and more reserved. Thankfully I take after him. Love my mom but dad gave me my personality…

  7. Krystal

    So awesome to have a mom like that. If I did that my kids would just laugh aloud at me! LOL My daughter not so much, she would hide in embarassment – can I borrow your mom and see if she can help my daughter out a bit?

  8. HeatherPride

    Thanks for the awesome and uplifting story!

Leave a Reply

