Okay, I confess!

Posted On September 19, 2008

Filed under Bear, life, self, The Spin Cycle

Comments Dropped 16 responses

I am a geek!  A huge geek!  Not just a  blog geek but an all around geek.  I collect gadgets, comics, video games and play games like this!  I read fantasy novels and watch cheesy SciFi movies.  And you know what, I am damn proud of it!

I am professional computer nerd.  I am even Microsoft Certified.  Even when I am not working, people call me with computer questions all the time and for the most part I am excited to try to figure out what their problem could be.  I enjoy the puzzle of it.  I enjoy hunting the problem down.  Its fun for me.

I love super-heroes and Knights of the Round table.  I actually collect books on King Arthur, both fictional novels and historical research.  I have watched every King Arthur movie ever made, at least once.  I even have a few games that are designed around the concept of King Arthur and his knights.

I am a huge fan of Batman.  The Frank Miller brooding hero version, not the Adam West Shark Repellent in the utility belt version. Because, let’s be honest.  This is just silly!

The kids think I am pretty nerdy.  Bear thinks I am pretty cool.  We enjoy going into book stores together to get and look at more geeky stuff because he is just as nerdy as I am.  I am not sure if I embarrass the kids or not when I am in the book store or the comic book shop but they always roll their eyes at me.  The Show even calls us “Adork-able”.

So, my confession is that I am shamelessly geeky and I do not care.  I laugh at fart jokes and make odd Star Trek references.  I watch Star Wars and play all the video games.  I collect comic books and keep them in plastic sleeves.  I play D&D and I thought this commercial was hilarious.

Because “Dungeon Master’s don’t have levels, dork!”

16 Responses to “Okay, I confess!”

  1. Sprite's Keeper

    Seeing as I’m married to a geek, another Microsoft Certified one at that, I can only shake my head in wonderment at you all and be somewhat in awe of your knowledge. (But I draw the line at the games. Okay, just World of Warcraft.)
    You’re linked!

  2. Casey

    Hahah! I’m with you… I’ve been known to tap into my geeky side as well and I’m married to a comic book/Star Trek/Battlestar Gallactic/Dr Who nerd. I love it. We both get the phone calls from EVERYONE we know with tech questions. I didn’t used to mind it but it’s kind of annoying now, my relatives only call if they need me to fix their computer. Grrr.

  3. spriteskeeperhubby

    LOLZ
    trying out W.A.R. tonite! Heard of it? http://www.warhammeronline.com. My WoW guild all flocked to it so I’ll see what the big deal is. (checkout http://www.thinkgeek.com) — cool stuff and frustration shirts. Go GEEKS!

  4. sammanthia

    I only WISH I was a computer geek- I screw up our computer all the time and Mark has gotten to the point (on more than one occasion) where he’s told me not touch anything until he gets home. He gets really annoyed with me sometimes and even the kids are starting to tell me not to touch any of their stuff.
    Sigh.

  5. awickedstepmom

    Spriteskeeperhubby:
    I love thinkgeek.com! Its one of my favorite “I am bored” sites. Also, I read about W.A.R. but I can’t play. I become a crack-addict for on-line games. So, I had to quit. It looks freaking awesome though!

  6. Sprite's Keeper

    Yup, his wish list for Christmas will be sprinkled with Think Geek. He actually got me a tee-shirt that says “I love my geek”.

  7. Tricia

    I bow my head and worship at the feet of geeks. Actually, I prefer to call you tech gods and tech goddesses.

  8. Krystal

    okay – yeah, i get this too! I love the SciFi channel and are glued to their movies and such. also a fan of the king arthur series of stories. I especially like the Merlin story with Sam Niel and how it works in the story of King Arthur. There is a new movie with Colin Firth – I just bought it and cannot remember the name of the movie – oh yeah! The Last Legion! – you have to watch it if you have not already and tell me how it ends and if you notice the link to the King Arthur legend.

  9. awickedstepmom

    Krystal:
    I love how The Last Legion linked to the King Arthur legend! It was a pretty good movie too. I liked the Merlin mini-series too. I didn’t like the latest King Arthur movie with Clive Owen. Mostly because they kept jumping off their horses to fight. But, I have been told I am just being picky.

  10. Debbie

    The Mists of Avalon … didn’t you just love it!!

    Now I want to go read it again!

  11. colepack

    I am a techie addict so I understand. I have not risen to the “jedi knight” levle as you have. I am still a Padawan 🙂

  12. Keeping Your Children Safe Online: Part I « Life and Times of a Wicked Step Mom

    […] to write a two part series on keeping your children safe on-line.  I mentioned before that I am geek.  I like to use my powers for good.  One of the things that I get ask most is, “What do you […]

  13. HeatherPride

    Wow, I think I’ll have to go out and grab a sci fi book now because you actually make “geekiness” sound kind of fun!!

  14. jenboglass (steenkybee)

    I don’t think you are a nerd at all. You sound ultra cool. I wish you lived next door so I could ask you all sorts of computer questions. I just have to bother the 15 year old boy next door. I’m starting to feel a little “cougarish”.

    I stopped by via the Spin Cycle. This is my first time participating and I wanted to visit all the other participants. Your confession is awesome.

  15. Katie

    I’m with HeatherPride I wonna be a geek too! I’m too addicted to blogging to get into online games.

  16. What super gadgets should I have on my utility belt? | Cool New Gadgets

    […] Okay, we confess! « Life as well as Times of the Wicked Step Mom […]

Leave a Reply

