I wish…

Posted On October 2, 2008

Filed under life, self, The Spin Cycle

Comments Dropped 9 responses

(Welcome to this week’s Spin Cycle)

I wish I could find an interesting way to write this post.  No, I am being serious, I can’t think of what to write about.  It has been plaguing me since last Friday.  I can’t think of a darn thing.  I thought it was writer’s block, so I tried writing about other things.  I can write with ease, but this just stumps my brain.

My parents have been after me to provide them with a Christmas wish list and so far, I can think of new pots and pans.  And that is about it.  Well, maybe some golf balls…  But, beyond that, I can’t think of anything.  (If you guys have some ideas feel free to share!)

I have come to the conclusion that, I don’t know what to wish for because I am truly happy with my life.  The only thing I would want more of is time with the girls.  I just love it when they are around.  But, for the first time, in a very long time, I am truly happy.  I have come a long way in the last few years.  And I can say that I am happy with how things have turned out.  I am happy to be who I am and I am happy with where I am in life.

I could wish for a lot of things.  A new car, no allergies, no asthma.  I could wish for my dad to be healthy or for my apartment to have heat (it just went out!).  But, I don’t think anything on the list will make me happy.   (Well, probably having heat when its 40 degrees!)  These things would be nice and I would appreciate them.  But, I have now what I use to wish for all the time.  I have something that is priceless and cannot be taken away from me without my consent.  I have happiness.

9 Responses to “I wish…”

  1. Sprite's Keeper

    Very nicely put. I am very happy for you and can feel the love you have for your husband and your girls. You’re linked and thank you for a lovely end to my evening!

  2. halfasgoodasyou

    Happiness is the end result of all wishes so if you have it, you’re golden. Nice spin!

  3. Fran

    I have to agree with you ..now is good my girls are out of the house and on their own. I have a great husband (35 yrs in Jan) and I am where I want to be and doing what I love to do……….spoil my grandkids. Life is good.

  4. Tricia

    My mom always asks for holiday wish lists too, but the older I get the harder it is and I don’t enjoy making lists anymore. There really isn’t anything I want except for my family to continue being happy and healthy, and for us to have time together. Maybe you could ask for things that involve family time together, like instituting a weekly family dinner night with your parents and the girls where you alternate cooking and hosting, or if they want to put a gift under the tree for opening, maybe tickets for you and the girls to some kind of event of theater performance that would be really fun.

    I think it’s wonderful that you have a great attitude and love for your new family, and that things are working out so well.

  5. DeeMarie

    I wish that you continute to not need to wish for anything! Great spin!! 🙂

  6. HeatherPride

    You know life is good when you have all that you wish for!! Happy days!

  7. jenboglass (steenkybee)

    Oh you gotta dream bigger than pots and pans and golf balls. Think global. Think microwave ovens and tennis raquets. I actually loved your non-wish. This was awesome!

  8. Ginger

    Hey, from another stepmom and also someone who wishes for more golf balls! (Actually I just wish I didn’t lose so many.)

    Before my Grandmama got sick, I was going to write about how my life is just about perfect, too. Well, it’s just such an improvement over what I used to have.

  9. steppingoverthejunk

    at this point, although I wish for constant goodness coming through my life, I’d like some extra cash. heh heh.

Leave a Reply

