Anger Management

Posted On October 10, 2008

Filed under frustration, life, self, The Spin Cycle

Comments Dropped 6 responses

Dear Spin Cycle:

I thought I would make a list of things that really get under my skin.  But at the moment, I can only think of one thing.  In-grown toenails.   Well, just one toenail actually.  But it makes me so mad!  It hurts, I can barely walk and the worst part is I had to get part of my nail surgically removed yesterday.  So, all I can think of is the pain in my toe.  

Nothing makes me more angry than no being able to take care of myself.  I couldn’t drive into work today because of course it is my right foot!!  So, Bear had to drive me in.  I wouldn’t care if he drove me in, if I could drive myself, but I am just ticked that he had to do it.  (Yeah, I know, I am bring nit-picky here.)  He never minds doing these things and stepped in as soon as I needed to be taken care of.  But, I want to take care of myself dammit!  

At work, I had to ask others to take care of things for me so that I didn’t have to keep getting up.  I am always the person that people turn to as the go-to-gal.  And I couldn’t even take care of my own stuff, because I couldn’t walk to the printer to get my own documents.  Other people didn’t mind or make a big deal out of it, but I hate that.  I hate having to rely on someone else so that I can do my job.  As a matter of fact, as long as it is my choice, I have never done a project that required waiting on someone else to help me.  And today, I didn’t have a choice but to wait for others to assist.

Whenever something is wrong with me, I always wonder if I am being a wuss or overly dramatic.  I can never tell if I am reacting the way that I should because I spend so much time sick.  I am also a klutz by nature and tend to get injured a lot.  So, I don’t know if my response to pain is normal or too much.  I can just never tell.  And that makes me angry too because I am always questioning myself and wondering if someone else would be as down and out as I am over whatever it is that is bothering me.  This toe thing is really making me feel quite pathetic because I am walking kind of like a zombie.  I am trying not to put any weight on my right toes, so I am walking on my heel.  I look like a movie zombie dragging my leg behind me in search of my next cranial snack.  This would make for a great Halloween costume but it is horrible for walking around.  People tend to stare at you either in sympathy or fear because they think you are really injured (and it is not just a stupid toe!) or think that you are going to start screaming “BRRRAAAAIIIIINNNNSSSS!!!!!!!” at any moment.

Yours truly, 

In patheticness or undeath,

WickedStepMom

6 Responses to “Anger Management”

  1. Sprite's Keeper

    Hey there! In juat under the wire! Sorry to hear you’re toe up, get it? Um, yeah. Sorry about that too.
    I hope you feel better and get back to your independent ways. I would be milking it for all it was worth myself… 🙂
    You’re linked!

  2. DeeMarie

    I sooo feel your pain! I had to lose my big toe two summers ago. It took forever to grow back and became ingrown and so I had to lose another part of it as it was almost grown out. But months and months later, it’s so much better. Hang in there!!

    Great spin! Hope you feel better soon!!

  3. DeeMarie

    Ooops.. Big toenail. Not toe!

  4. halfasgoodasyou

    Youch, that can’t feel good. I hate having to depend on people to bring me stuff too, I think you need a robot. That would solve everything! And on the bright side, it’s October so zombies are welcome for the entire month!

  5. Tricia

    I’m the same way. I hate the depend on other people. Hope your toe feel better soon and you get to choose being something other than a zombie for Halloween.

  6. HeatherPride

    Oh, hilarious. Not because you’re in pain but because I’m visualizing you zombie-walking all around the office! There’s no pain like foot pain, I’m telling ya. I hate ingrown toenails, they can really ruin a person’s day.

    Hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

