Trick or Treat

Posted On October 24, 2008

Filed under life, self, The Spin Cycle

Comments Dropped 6 responses

I may have mentioned before that I am a geek.  I am a full-time computer geek and one of my favorite tricks is playing with my co-workers computers.  As a group, we remotely reboot eachother’s computers while we are working.  We remotely open CD-ROM trays, disconnect drives, reset screen savers, and set the screens so that they have a mirror effect.

Sometimes these tricks get very brutal.  There are times that the pranks will go on for weeks at a time.  But the worst time, was something I was not even involved in.  A co-worker of mine packed up the targets computer and sent it to our other building, a 4 hour drive away.  The target was franktic because he couldn’t find his computer all morning.  Finally, after setting up another computer to use, he got a phone call from people in the other building.  They said, “we have a package for you, would you like to come and pick it up?”  He was confused and said that he wanted it sent to him.  But the co-worker put a note on the package stating that he had to pick up and sign for the package in person, so they wouldn’t send it.  It took him three days to get his computer back.  I think that it was really taking it a bit too far.  After that we had to stop pranking eachother for a while…

6 Responses to “Trick or Treat”

  1. Sprite's Keeper

    You IT people know you have the upper hand here. John once put remote access on our home computer and he was at work when I was using it. All of the sudden, the pointer started going to different screens and typing strange messages and I freaked the flip out. He called me a couple of minutes later and owned up to it, but I’m sure he was a little hesitant to come home that day! Great Spin! You’re linked!

  2. Casey

    That’s a great prank but I would have been pissed if I were the one getting punked. I’ve had access to all of my coworker’s computers for years but I could never bring myself to mess with them.

  3. DeeMarie

    Oh my goodness! That is quite the prank. I’ve flipped people’s screen image upside down before and then changed out the keys on the keyboards but that’s about as far as my IT skills will take me! Sounds like your workplace is at least mildly entertaining!

    Great Spin!

  4. Krystal

    OMG!!! I would so totally have flipped out.

  5. Tricia

    I would have flipped, and then laughed until I cried. It sounds like you work with a fun bunch of people. We non-geeks are so dependent on you computer gods. I think we need you more than we need our primary care physicians.

  6. HeatherPride

    Oh wow, I can’t believe they got away with that one! Heads would have rolled in my office! Pretty clever though, you have to admit!

Leave a Reply

