Snow

Posted On November 10, 2008

Filed under frustration, funny quotes, life, rant, self

Comments Dropped 7 responses

It snowed last night, for the first time this season in my little corner of Southeast Michigan. The ground is still to warm for it to stick but it was a beautiful site and I am so happy to see it. At least I was, until I drove to work this morning. It was still snowing and the roads were a little slick. There were a ton of accidents and roads were being closed because of them. It makes me wonder about people though. I wonder how many people got in their cars this morning, looked at the falling snow and immediately panicked.

“Dear God, someone save us! White fluffy doom is falling from the sky! EVERYBODY PANIC!! The apocalypse is nigh! WHITE DEATH IS COMING FOR US! Civilization as we know it is going to END!”

Or did they think something even more dangerous….

“I have my gigantic 4 wheel drive gas guzzling SUV. The White Death can’t hurt me! Get out of the way or get run over Ugos! I have 5 minutes to get to work and 180 mph is just not fast enough for me!”

Or my personal favorite, the self appointed traffic regulators….

“Gee, if I don’t drive only 5 miles per hour all of those citizen behind me will drive way too fast and could possibly get hurt. I better take up two lanes just to make sure everyone is safe!”

7 Responses to “Snow”

  1. Sprite's Keeper

    I would love to see snow and play in it (for the first time), but driving in it? Um, no. Drive safely up there!

  2. halfasgoodasyou

    I’m petrified to drive in the snow. People in FL act the same way if a drop of rain falls or a blade of grass moves….

  3. HeatherPride

    Wow, how did all the St. Louis drivers get up to where you are? People are the exact same way here! I personally love the crazy SUV drivers who think they’re invincible. And although I’m not one to laugh at someone else’s misfortune, I can’t help but feel a little smug every time I see one slid into the ditch on an icy road!!

  4. goodfather

    Ha ha, great post! I live in Western Washington where it doesn’t snow very frequently, and when it does , it’s slush, not snow. But still, traffic behaves EXACTLY as you describe. I grew up in Easter Washington where it snows a LOT, and I’m used to driving in it. I hate sharing the road with people who just FREAK OUT. Grrr.

  5. Tricia

    I grew up in snow country and love those first flakes. They’re beautiful, but then reality sets in. And all those drivers you mentioned, we have then here in Atlanta even without the snow!

  6. Sammanthia

    I do NOT miss driving in the winter in Michigan. You’re right, people are total idiots the first few snowfalls, you’d think they’d forgotten how to drive over the summer.

  7. steenky bee

    Bawahahaha! “White death”. That’s what my husband calls my homemade clam chowder. We had a touch o’ the snow earlier this week. It’ll be back. It’ll be back. I’m actually a huge fan of it. I can’t wait to ski. Also, are Michigonians (what do you call yourselves?) under the impression that they are superior snow drivers just like Utah drivers are? I think all the “winter” states should get together for some sort of competition.

Leave a Reply

