Love and Hate

Posted On November 21, 2008

Filed under family, life, self

Comments Dropped 9 responses

So that other shoe, it finally dropped…  Tonight I am writing from a bad place.  I am writing from a negative place.  But, it has to be said and it has to be asked.  I am so weary from battle.  I have been fighting against hate.  I have been using the only weapon in my arsenal that I think would be effective.  I have been fighting with love.   But, I am just not sure if it is enough.  It feels like I fight to neutral ground and then the battle starts over and I am on the losing end.

So, blogosphere, can you fight hate with love?  And is it enough?  I am just not sure that it will ever be enough.  The battle is worth fighting and I will continue to fight it until my last breath, but am I doomed to failure? I know it is just a funk and I know it will pass, but sometimes I just feel like I can’t win and that maybe I should stop trying to fight it so hard.

9 Responses to “Love and Hate”

  1. Sammanthia

    I guess it depends on the situation… I would probably give up after a while, but I don’t know the situation so I have no idea what to tell ya’. Sometimes it isn’t worth it, but sometimes it is… in the end, all you need to know is that you tried your best, even if it didn’t work out the way you hoped.

  2. Casey

    Sure you can but it might take awhile to win over the hate. I hope the funk dries up soon so you can go back to being happy..

  3. goodfather

    Ack, that’s a hard one. I stubbornly combine love with patience to a fault, and refuse to give up in even the most futile situations. Not sure that’s better, heh. I also hope the funk passes quickly.

  4. Sprite's Keeper

    If it’s worth it to you, fight until you have nothing left to give, and then fight some more. It’s always dark before someone finally turns on the light. Whatever you do, we’re supporting you!

  5. Tricia

    Love has to win over hate, even if it feels like it takes forever. If the end result is worth it, keep fighting for what you need and what you believe in. Hope you feel better and that love conquers!

  6. Twenty Four At Heart

    I think with infinite time, yes love will triumph. Sometimes, however, we grow tired of the fight, the waiting … and we decide it’s not worth it. Hope your spirits improve soon!

  7. Saffa Chick

    Oh dear. I hope the funk passes and that you emerge unscathed.

    Love is the best weapon against hate… but sometimes it burns out and there is nothing left… and once the love is gone where’s the point in fighting?

  8. HeatherPride

    Sorry for your rough patch, WSM. I really like what Sprite’s Keeper said up there. That girl is wise.

  9. Nev S

    I’ve been in ‘the fight’ for nearly four years. If it’s worth it, work through it and pick up a good bottle of Merlot along the way. That always seems to help(!).

Leave a Reply

