The Inception of Life and Times of a Wicked Step Mom

Posted On December 12, 2008

Filed under Bear, parenting, self, The Spin Cycle, The Tribe

Comments Dropped 15 responses

It is strange for me to think about what I did before blogging. But I know I had a life outside of blogging before Life and Times of a Wicked Step Mom was created. It was only 9 months ago that I started writing like this. Now, I can not imagine life without it. To explain how it started, I have to tell you about what came before, about what led me here. As I mentioned before, I am a geek. I used to spend a lot of time reading online forums for rpgs, comics and video games. I spend more time reading blogs now but then I never really use to read them. I was still new at the step-mom gig and feeling really out of my element.
I started using google reader to organize my sites. I needed to be able to sort through everything quickly so that I could get the most out of my lunch hour on the web. When setting it up, it gave me the option to include feeds from different categories of interest. I selected parenting, among many others, as one of my interests. If you ask me now why I did it, I can’t really give you a straight answer. I guess I thought that I could subscribe to a few feeds and get some sort of child-raising manual. Something that would help me to figure out the best way to handle my new role. I really was just starting to spend time with the Tribe as a whole and now just Bear. The girls were past the full on hate phase and were ready to accept me, kind of, anyway.
The feeds that I found were Dad Gone Mad, Fussy, and a few others. I started reading them and found relief as well as wisdom. I found that others were facing the same challenges that I was facing. The challenges weren’t step-children challenges, they were just kid challenges. I lurked for a long time. I even started sharing some of the entries with Bear. I continued to lurk and found even more blogs that I liked to read. Finally, Bear said to me one day after looking over my shoulder as I was reading a blog, “You could do that.” It was very matter of fact and I knew that he meant it. I started to think about it. I had always loved to write and tell stories. I was nervous because it had been so long since I had written something real. Finally, I decided to take the plunge. I chose to name my blog Life and Times of a Wicked Step Mom because one of my girls was convinced that I was wicked in the beginning. We have a great relationship now, and it is a joke to us. I also wanted to write about what being a step mom was to me and how it changed my life. It changed how I looked at the world and it changed how I feel about myself.

15 Responses to “The Inception of Life and Times of a Wicked Step Mom”

  1. Hot Wife

    I love it that you found relief and wisdom from Danny. It is heart warming to know that he has helped other people in ways we can’t imagine. Keep up the good work.

    Sharon

  2. Hot Wife

    I love it that you found relief and wisdom from Danny’s blog (maybe the wisdom was from
    Fussy). It is heart warming to know that he has been a positive influence for others in ways he could not have imagined. Keep up the good work.

    Sharon

  3. Erin

    Well I’m glad you blog. I think it makes other stepmoms feel “normal” when we see others have the same issues we do!

  4. goodfather

    Awesome spin! I love your blog, and how it started out. You’re writing is excellent.

  5. HeatherPride

    So glad you started your blog! I love to check up on you guys!

  6. Jenny

    I agree with Erin!

  7. Sprite's Keeper

    I’ve been waiting for the reason you named your blog what you did, since the words you write are anything but proof of your title! Very glad you blog and very happy you’re linked!

  8. Captain Dumbass

    Good spin. I know I should really write something more, but the coffee hasn’t really kicked in yet and it’s cold. Really cold. Why the hell is this room so cold?

  9. sherendipity

    I love that you made the point of saying that they’re not really “step kids” as much as they are just “kids”.
    I wish the evil bitch, my ex-husband lives with, would realize that.

  10. Stefanie

    It is amazing the support you can get from friends on the Internet. I couldn’t have survived the last 4 years if it weren’t for blogging. So glad to have this outlet!

    and good for you for overcoming the Wicked title.

  11. halfasgoodasyou

    Great spin! That’s so funny that you were considered the “wicked stepmom” when all I’ve ever thought was how great you are at it. Glad you started blogging!

  12. Tricia

    Great post. I am so glad you started, and have continued. I think I originally started visiting you because your name sparked my interest.

  13. sammanthia

    Love your Spin! So much more interesting than mine… I just recently found out who Dooce was and my sil’s was the first and only blog I had ever read before starting my own. I am lame.;)

  14. Laufa

    Glad you stopped just lurking and took the plunge.

  15. Fran

    Great Spin. I wondered how you came by that name.

Leave a Reply

