Stories that need to be told: Part 1

I have been thinking a lot lately about how to tell the girls some really important stories.  Stories about their father and about other important people in their lives.  I guess it really started when Bear and the Tyrant had an all out pistols-at-dawn argument.  They were both hurting so bad and part of me wanted to wrap them both up and say that everything would be okay.  But, the other part of me knew, it was a battle that needed to be fought.  So, The Mother Hen, The Show and I watched the heart ache unfold and did our best to not let them see that we were hurting too.  It was this argument that made me think of a story that Bear told me. 

Right after The Tyrant was born, she developed jaundice.  Her skin was yellow and she looked sickly.  The doctors told Bear that she needed as much sun light as possible to help break down the illness.  The Tyrant was born at the tail end of March, in Michigan.  There was very little sunlight to be found.  So, he wrapped her up in a ton of blankets and put her in her car seat.  He carried her out of his truck that had tinted windows, but was parked in the sunniest part of the yard.  He opened the windows and blasted the heat, tried to expose as much of her skin to the sun as possible. As the day would progress, he would move the truck so that she would get the most sunlight possible.  Her skin started to look more baby pink and less yellow.   He did this every day from sun up to sun down for two weeks.  The jaundice left her and she was a healthy baby from that point forward.

It occurred to me, as she was slamming a door in his face, that she had never heard this story.  And, I know Bear would never tell her this story, because he doesn’t like to make himself sound like he is Mr. Wonderful.  I realized it would be up to me to tell her.  I decided to write this story and others that need to be told here.  Maybe they will be able to look back at this one day and read these stories.  Hopefully, I would have already told them before they read them here.  This is part 1 and I am sure that there will be more to follow.

6 Responses to “Stories that need to be told: Part 1”

  1. Jamie

    Family dynamics! I hate those arguments too… I think you are so right about the stories and I love that one – it so shows how much he loves his little girl! You are fantastic to try and bring healing in this way! Way to go!!

  2. spriteskeeper

    What a loving father. I hope she sees this.

  3. halfasgoodasyou

    That story gave me goosebumps. My daughter had jaundice but we were in FL so we just took her outside in her diaper. I can’t imagine sitting in a car for that long but that’s what you do for your kids. So sweet.

    I’m sure it’s hard to watch them fight like that. To this day, I regret the way my preteen and teen self acted toward my parents. I hope things smooth out soon.

  4. Captain Dumbass

    I haven’t seen my father in probably 8 months. Tell her the story.

  5. Izzy Rose

    Hi there,
    Just found your blog. I’m always happy to find new women “learning the ropes and trying to be a stepparent.” Visit me sometime at stepmothersmilk.com

    Let me know if you’d like me to add you to my blogroll.

    Best,

    IR

  6. Tricia

    This is beautiful and I also hope the stories help mend hearts. I used to find myself doing similar story telling to mediate certain hurts between my husband and my stepchildren. The dynamics you are all dealing with are incredibly tough terrain.

Leave a Reply

