A light at the end of the tunnel

I know I haven’t written in a while so this is not a recent event.  This actually happened a few weeks ago.  But, it was important for the Tribe and needs its own place on the blog.  It is why we were driving in a snow storm. And why it was so important to make it there in one piece.  We got to go to a wedding as the Tribe for the very first time.  And not just any wedding a second marriage.  (For those of you who don’t know, Bear and I are not married.)

The groom was Bear’s cousin who has several kids from a previous marriage.  The bride was a wonderful, not-so-wicked lady who would be their step-mom.  The wedding was a modest and cozy affair.  There were exactly 5 chairs per table, which was wonderful because the Tribe had a table all to ourselves.  The other tables were far enough away that we were able to just chat amongst ourselves until after dinner.  The bride and groom were thrilled and the groom’s children all had huge smiles on their faces.  It was amazing to see especially since they had such an uphill battle to fight over the years.  The children’s mother was a very unstable individual and spent a lot of time trying to make life hard on all of them.

After dinner, we danced and visited with everyone from out of town.  Bear’s parents live 6 hours away, so the girls were able to get some quality grandma time in with her at the wedding.  The girls and I danced almost all night.  The Mother Hen, The Tyrant and I even tried a few line dances that we didn’t know.  One was the Cupid Shuffle.  The Show wasn’t brave enough.  And I must admit that really surprised me.  After a little while, The Tyrant got too hot and felt sick to her stomach.  So, we went to cool off by the exit doors.  After a few minutes, she looked up at me and said, “I think I am going to throw up.”  So, we rushed to the bathroom.  She did get a little sick and I put cool towels on her head and neck. Then, the hard decision came… she wanted a drink and I had to leave the bathroom to get her one.  That would mean leaving her there alone while I ran to go get it.  So, after a few minutes, I kicked off my heels and ran for a drink.  I almost collided head first into Bear.  He kept pace with me and I filled him in.  Both The Mother Hen and The Show came into the bathroom with me after that.  The Tyrant was sitting with Bear’s sister.  (Thank goodness she was there!)  She was starting to feel a little better and we gave her the drink.  Bear ended up in the ladies room too, since it was only us and his sister in there at that point.  We ended up all huddling in the bathroom for about 15 minutes, until The Tyrant was sure she felt better.  We sat at the table for a total of 10 minutes, and in typical kid fashion she was back on her feet running around and dancing. 

The Show and I share a love of Billy Idol, so she asked me to request “Dancing with Myself” so that we could dance to it.  The DJ didn’t have it, so we ended up getting stuck with “Mony, Mony.”  Its not a bad song, it is just way over played.  We danced to it anyway.  The entire floor ended up filling up with people dancing and we started to form a circle.  People were dancing in the middle and then falling back into the circle.  All three girls were too chicken to go in the middle, so I did.  Then they mobbed me!  It was like they had secretly planned to all jump in if I did.  We almost fell over and two people had to help us get back in the circle without injury.

The last two songs that we danced to were “7 things” by Miley Cyrus and “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun” by Cyndi Lauper.  All three girls had put in the request for the Miley Cyrus song because they wanted the four of us to dance together to it.  Half way through “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun,” the groom approached me and said that we needed to wrap things up.  Apparently, the pipes in another part of the building had burst and we needed to clear out soon.  The night ended early, but I am kind of glad that is did.  I mean after all how often do you get to break a building and have pizza afterwards!

6 Responses to “A light at the end of the tunnel”

  1. Sprite's Keeper

    Wow, sounds like a great time!

  2. Casey

    Hey stranger, nice to see you posting! I love fun family events. That sounded a lot like my wedding, there was booze and dancing and blow up instruments and leis. I’m glad you guys had such a good time together and pizza at the end? That’s the perfect day right there…

  3. Captain Dumbass

    Billy Idol? I’m so back in high school.

  4. Tricia

    It’s so wonderful to hear you reveling in parenthood! It obviously fits you quite nicely, on and off the dance floor!

  5. Keely

    Hehe, Billy Idol. I hope nobody yelled the rude lyrics.

  6. Jenny

    I looove Billy Idol. And that sounds like a great party. I’m glad you and the rest of the Tribe had fun.

Leave a Reply

