Random Tuesday Thoughts: Techno detox

I read this the other day, and thought are you freakin’ kidding me?  A 30 day e-mail detox?!?  Here is a tip for ya, if e-mail is toxic become Amish! Or how about going back to the dark ages and use a stone tablet and chisel!

Yesterday, my cell phone battery died.  I almost panicked.  I was waiting on an important call and it just died!  I even forgot my back up battery at home.  But, then I started thinking about it.  I have a phone at work.  Bear and I ride home together and his cell phone battery was working just fine…  And calmed down.  How did people survive without cell phones?  I know I did but, wow, that battery dieing thing really showed me how addicted I am.

We went out of town last summer and Bear almost had a nervous break down at the thought of being without his e-mail for 6 days.  He had to bring his laptop with us so that he could find a rogue internet connection to check it.  That man needs help… and a 12 step program.

Each kid in our house has their own laptop.  Yet, they fight over the desktop computer that is in theirs to share.  I think they enjoy fighting… or driving us crazy.  Either way…  its pretty effective.

 

Learn more about Random Tuesday Thoughts by checking out The Un-Mom.

7 Responses to “Random Tuesday Thoughts: Techno detox”

  1. Sprite's Keeper

    I think you should put some techno on speaker while we read this! 🙂

  2. Jenny

    LOL This is funny because we are considering getting rid of the internet to save money. And get cell phones. We don’t cell phones right now and people ask us how we survive. 🙂

  3. HeatherPride

    I’m cracking up over the kids fighting over the desktop computer!! We have one downstairs and I can’t even seem to make myself go down there most weekends so I can check my email!

  4. captaindumbass

    I don’t know what I did before the internet and cell phones. Maybe it wasn’t real. Matrix?

  5. halfasgoodasyou

    I think you just described me. I forgot my phone at home a few weeks back and was on edge the entire time. We brought our laptop on our last two trips and instantly checked our email upon checking into the hotel. It’s insanity. If you find that twelve step program, let me know.

  6. anita ovolina

    Total internet technology dependent mom over here 🙂 I hear you.
    What would I do without checking my email 1000 times a day?
    🙂

  7. Sammanthia

    I don’t even like talking on the phone and I freaked a little when we lost service with the ice storm. It was awful.

Leave a Reply

