Another reason I am scared for teenaged girls

Today, I read a story that just disturbed me. Two 16 year old girls were running their own brothel, by recruiting other teen girls. And the first thought that I had, was “Are you serious?”  This thought was quickly followed by, “Where were the parents?”  I am sure a lot of people think that when they read this story.  But my question is about when they were running the brothel, it was well before that.  Where were the parents when they got the idea that selling yourself for prostitution is okay.  Where were they when they rented an apartment on their own?  Where were they when these girls were gone at all hours of the night?

I know that prostitution is the oldest profession.  And I know, some people don’t have much choice.  There can be all kinds of reasons.  But, these girls are still in high school.  They should still have parents and teachers and councilors looking out for them.  Where were all of these people?  I know that for the most part as a society we are asleep at the wheel, but sometimes I wonder how much people just choose to ignore things that are obviously wrong.  The stories states that they were recruiting girls from their high schools.  If that is the case, then the students had to know what was going on.  If they knew and they did nothing, then I want to know where their parents are too.  Rumors and information in high school is not always reliable but I would like to think if an administrator caught wind of this, they would at least look into it.  I feel like so many people dropped the ball on this one.  Because it was allowed to happen for over 6 months.

I have said it before and I will say it again.  We need to be teaching our children, boys and girls to love themselves.  To have self respect and foster their self-esteem.  Too many times, I see parents tearing apart the self-esteem of their kids.  This does not help them, it only makes it so situations like this can happen.  I can not feel like any of the girls involved in this felt good about what they were doing from the start.  Someone should have told them that they are worth more than this.

5 Responses to “Another reason I am scared for teenaged girls”

  1. Sprite's Keeper

    It starts at home. If it doesn’t, it will start somewhere else and you get results like this.

  2. HeatherPride

    I worry a lot about the future of my children, but never in my wildest dreams would I have thought I needed to add this to my list! What in the world?

  3. Captain Dumbass

    Wasn’t that a movie recently?

  4. Casey

    I can’t remember what my identity theft comment that I had you delete said. I can say that I’m going to be on my kid’s asses to the point where they wouldn’t be able to pull this crap. What are parents thinking? Grr.

  5. Jenny

    Hey…that happened here in AZ. They had busted a whole child prostitution ring, and these girls were a part of it. I can’t believe that we as parents have to worry about one more crazy thing. Isn’t life hard enough already?

Leave a Reply

