Random Tuesday Thoughts:

Posted On March 3, 2009

Filed under Bear, life, Random Tuesday Thoughts, self

Comments Dropped 10 responses

For more Randomness, check you Keely.

Button, Button, Whoes got the Button?  I am working on trying to find a button/badge creator.  Everyone else has really cool ones and I can’t seem to find anything to help.  Anyone got advice?

I must be out of touch with pop-culture.  TV shows are annoying me more than entertaining me.  I can’t seem to get into shows that I use to love.  Chuck, 24 and Heros haven’t even made it into my DVR lately.  Am I losing touch or has TV gotten that bad?

I am studying for another computer certification.  I am working on cert number 4.  I know, I am a nerd.  Especically, since I am enjoying learning something new.  I hope I never lose that.  I like learning so much, I am going to eventually pursue my Master’s Degree.  Expensive but to me, it will be worth it.

Is it just me or have people gotten meaner lately?  I am starting to wonder if it is paranoia or a sign of the times, but people just seem pissed off all of the time.  Or maybe my ninja powers are wearing off and people are noticing me more and so they are being mean because I am there.  Bear says that I am pratically invisibe in public, which is not a bad thing, unless you are in the grocery store.  Then people tend to run over you with their carts.  Its never pretty and they always look so surprise that they hit me.  Like I wasn’t even there until they crammed their metal grocery moving contraption into my ankles.

Ever notice that kids have selective hearing?  I wonder if my girls will develop selective reading.  Sometimes we will text them reminders for things.  I wonder if they can use the whole, “I wasn’t reading” excuse?   Does the selectiveness tranfer to other forms of media.  Like selective e-mail reading?  Or selective YouTubing?  When will it all end?!?!

 

UPDATE: WordPress failed me for the first time ever..  It didn’t publish my post at 6am.  Evil WordPress!

10 Responses to “Random Tuesday Thoughts:”

  1. HeatherPride

    Sometimes it seems like a part time job just keeping up with my DVR. I get especially irritated at shows like The Biggest Loser and American Idol. I love them, but really – how many episodes per week do you think I need? Haven’t you heard that absence is what makes the heart grow fonder?? And enough with the 2-hour programs already! Even though I can usually bust through it in an hour with the DVR, it’s still too much of my day. Yeesh.

  2. Jenny

    I, too, have stopped watching most of the shows that I love. Just not enough time. Goodness knows we can’t waste the precious minutes that we do have.

  3. Sprite's Keeper

    Nope, it’s definitely the shows. And Biggest Loser is about to lose another watcher if they keep it up with the product placement! Or pay me to watch…

  4. Elizabeth

    Kids have selective hearing for sure. They respond to certain keywords and that’s about it.

  5. Sarah

    I think shows really suck too! Except for So You Think You Can Dance…now that show is Emmy worthy : )

  6. mrsbear0309

    Heroes has disappointed me lately too, I have three back episodes DVRed and I can’t bring myself to watch them. They suck, their first season was so good, and now I couldn’t care less if all their characters got sucked in to a vortex. Lame. I’m also pretty sure my kids hear me, they just choose to ignore me. 😦

  7. Margo M

    It does seem as if watching tv has gotten to be a lot of work with all these shows where you can’t miss one episode. Now that my girls are teenagers, I’m real sensitive to how sexist and just plain bad most of it is. Can’t help you on the buttons… I’ve been wondering the same thing!

  8. Keely

    yeah, I don’t watch tv any more. I think it’s all gone in the toilet.

    I don’t think it’s just you…I think people are stressed and bitchy. I hope it lightens up soon.

  9. Casey

    That “I wasn’t reading” excuse is brilliant. I guess if they can say they weren’t listening then they can use the reading one too.

    People are mean, it’s not just you.

    Good luck studying for your cert. I was on track to take my CCNA cert but then I got lazy. Maybe one day…

  10. GreenJello

    My teen uses, “I didn’t get that text” as an excuse.

    And hi from a fellow geek. 🙂

Leave a Reply

