Which one is the Stepmom again?

As I have mention before, I am very short and petite.  Many times when I am in stores, people treat me like I am a teenager.  I will get followed around by sales people in department stores, to make sure that I don’t steal anything.  Wait-staff generally will by pass my table to go to a “grown-ups” table, assuming that they will get better tips from the “adults.”  This is something that I have grown use to over the years.  It use to bother me a lot but now I just accept it as a fact of life as long as no one goes out of their way to make me feel like crap about being small.

The Mother Hen takes after her father.  She is tall and built that a real Irish woman.  Everything about her shows how much of a Highlander she really is.  Part of me is jealous of this, because she can easily pass for 20 and I usually am struggling to prove my own age.  She is a very beautiful girl and her height and size make her doubt that.  I guess the grass is always greener…

Last night, we were out at a vitamin store.  We were picking up some teen vitamins for her because she has been wanting for a while to start taking a vitamin to see if it will help her.  When we took our purchases up to the counter, the guy behind the counter asks, “How old is the teen that is going to be taking this?”  I answered “16.”  He smiled and said, “Have her try these too.  They will help her with focus at school.”  They were an Omega 3 supplement chew.  On a whim, and because he was checking The Mother Hen out, I said “Which one of us is 16?”  He said “Neither…  Wait.. you are 16?”  The Mother Hen nodded. “Oh my God, I thought you were at least 20!”, he said. I told him that on many occasions people thought she was the stepmom and I was the teen. The Mother Hen was upset by this.  When we got into the car, she kept saying how she thought it was unfair that she looked 20.

I drove over to the ATM.  I had to open the door and lean out to reach the ATM machine.  She started laughing at me.  I looked at her and said, “Don’t laugh, my belly is cold.”  My jacket had lifted up so, I was hanging half out of the car with the door open and the cold night air was going up my jacket.  Of course, she laughed harder, “Feel the breeze!”  I glared at her and told her “Laugh it up, Fuzzball!”  She looked shocked, “So, now I am 20 year old Fuzzball?  I hate you too!”

7 Responses to “Which one is the Stepmom again?”

  1. Sprite's Keeper

    Reminds me of the looks my petite sister got when she was pregnant and walking along in Honolulu with me. Everyone thought she was about 14 and in trouble when she was really 23 and married.

  2. Smart Mouth Broad

    I have to open the car door at the drive-up atm also. I feel your pain.

  3. HeatherPride

    I have total T-Rex arms. I can’t reach a damn thing. I feel your pain.

  4. Casey

    Heh, I love it! When I first started working at my old school, I used to communicate with people over email about computer issues. Then when I’d go into their classrooms to fix their computers, I’d try to slip in and work on the computer without interrupting the flow of class. On several occasions, the teachers stopped class and demanded to know what I was doing since they thought I was a student taking over their PC. I guess it’s not a bad thing.

  5. SmileyGirl

    Quick question – you mentioned that you were looking a vitamins that would help her and then he mentioned ones to help focus. Can you tell me what you were looking for and to help with what? I have a 12 year old that has trouble focusing and with anxiety and I would love any hints you’ve got! Thanks!

  6. meg

    Just the other day I told someone my birthday was last week and they asked if I had turned 18! Considering I was standing there with my 2 year old I was speechless.

  7. Sammanthia

    I hate being short, which is why I wear heels *all the time*. I’ve even been known to mow the lawn in heels. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

