Sometimes your the bat and sometimes your the ball

Posted On March 16, 2009

Filed under frustration, life, Out of my element, self

Comments Dropped 5 responses

Saturday, I was the ball. The day started at 6:00AM, I had to sign in and do some work remotely.  The work went well, but I could not get the people that were testing to call me back.  So, I ran late to get my car in the shop because it had a recall on the oil change indication light.  Not the idiot light, but the change oil light that indicates when the oil needs changing.  According to the manual, it can take up to a year for the oil to actually need changing.  While I was at the dealer, I got a text message from my mom and dad (separately) telling me that my great uncle was moving from the hospital to hospice.  The dealer ran late, so I was running behind to get The Tyrant to her best friends birthday party. I picked up The Show and The Tyrant because Bear and The Mother Hen needed to head in the other direction.  While driving to the party, I got another text message, my great uncle passed away before my dad could go and see him.  And before I could too. 

The funeral is going to be at the same church as my grandfather’s was.  I still have the image of his funeral in my head.  My step-grandmother was standing over his casket wailing.  I have never been able to get that image out of my thoughts whenever I think about that church.  But Catholic priets also remind me of my grandmother’s funeral and the last time that I saw step-grandfather.  It was going to be a long week before all of this.  Now, I just want to crawl back into my bed and hide under the covers for a little while.

5 Responses to “Sometimes your the bat and sometimes your the ball”

  1. Sprite's Keeper

    I am so sorry. My thoughts are with you and your family. Hug those girls tight.

  2. HeatherPride

    I’ll be thinking of you this week. My sympathies.

  3. Stacy (the Random Cool Chick)

    I’m so sorry. You and your family will be in my thoughts and prayers.

  4. Sammanthia

    I’m so sorry about your uncle. You and your family are in my prayers. Smooches.

  5. Casey

    Ugh, so sorry to hear about your uncle. Also sorry that I didn’t make it by to say I was sorry yesterday. Sorriness all around! I’ll be thinking of you guys.

Leave a Reply

