Stories that need to be told: Part 4

Okay girls, I am going to tell you a story about me this time. Hopefully, this will make you understand why I hate, “In a minute”.

This morning, I saw a commercial that made me think of my ex husband. It was a Scrubbing Bubbles Shower Cleaner commercial. The scrubbing bubbles made me think of the infamous shower curtain argument. Here is how it went… I asked him from the time we got up that morning until the blow out to help me clean the house. I kept hearing “in a minute”. After about an hour of me working and him sitting, he asked what I wanted him to do. I gave him a list of like 6 things, including clean the shower and replace the curtain. 3 and 1/2 hours later, he still hadn’t started on anything that I had asked him to do. So, I started doing it. Figuring that at least if it was done I would feel better and be able to go grocery shopping. I did everything on the list and I was half way through changing the shower curtain when he came storming into the bathroom. He demanded the curtain hooks and said “If I do this, you can’t [complain]* and say I didn’t help. And maybe you will stop nagging me.” I refused. He left. He went to my best friend and complained about me. He told my best friend that I hounded him all day long. My best friend didn’t buy it. But, I will never forget how he told the story.

So, my girls, I want you to remember this.  And remember most of all, not to get into a relationship with someone who will not work with you.  Working together is more important than a lot of other things.  And if you can’t work together, one of you will end up feeling taken advantage of, or worse.

* Edited for swearing content.

6 Responses to “Stories that need to be told: Part 4”

  1. Amy

    Yes, being able to work together is important!

  2. Tricia

    I’m soooo glad you’re no longer married to a beast! Great story and message for your girls.

  3. Sprite's Keeper

    Luckily, your story has a happy ending.

  4. Casey

    It’s so nice when you have someone who actually supports you and works with you. In a minute guy sucks.

  5. Jenny

    So true.

  6. Lulu and Moxley's Mom

    Marrying an obsessive compulsive clean freak worked for me. He swiffers right behind me and the girls like a crazed lunatic.

Leave a Reply

