Jail Keeper

This weekend was beautiful.  Gorgeous weather, blues skies, sunshine and all the happiness that is spring.  But we were in the house, Bear and I were the jail keepers.  Every single one of the girls was in trouble at one point over the weekend.  It started on Friday with The Mother Hen.  She was late coming home, by over an hour.  The Tyrant was being sassy, in a bad way.  And The Show was retaliating to the sass.

I felt like all weekend long, I was stopping a fight or backing up Bear when he was doling out punishments.  I almost felt like a toddler that only can say the word “no.”  I can’t help but wonder if something was in the water…  Because, while they have their sibling rivalry and other issues, they haven’t been this misbehaved before.  Bear, of course, took this all in stride.  He never even looked flustered.  (I am not sure how he does it… and I am more than a little jealous!)

Saturday morning, I was relating the story of how The Mother Hen got in trouble to my mother.  She laughed, hard.  “I remember those days…  Sounds like your brother,” she said.  I hope I survive the teenage years so that one day, I can laugh about this too. 

******

We are still accepting posts for Beautiful Like Me, round 2.  What do today’s children and teens feel pressured to imitate?  Why? Just leave a comment here, at Tricia’s or Amy’s place.

7 Responses to “Jail Keeper”

  1. HeatherPride

    My mom used to call it “spring fever.” Apparently a lot of kids get a little wild this time of year. Give it a couple of weeks and they’ll be back to normal!

  2. Sprite's Keeper

    Oh, geez. Sprite was in rare form yesterday too. She woke up with a runny nose this morning so it must be the reason. I mean, she gives me a hard time sometimes, but yesterday? She kicked my butt!

  3. Lulu and Moxley's Mom

    I think the teenage years will kill me. My girls are only 18 months so I have a while but the thought of them actually NOT LIKING ME at some point seems crazy. Although my friend with teenagers said by that time you’re kind of relieved they stop talking to you for a while…

  4. Casey

    I second Lulu and Moxley’s Mom.. if the teenage years are supposed to be worse than toddlerhood, I’m so screwed.

  5. steenky bee

    It’s finally starting to turn warm here. It’s driving me crazy not being outside and active.

  6. Tricia

    It’s just not fair when they all go crazy at once!!

  7. Jenny

    Usually the girls take turns being sassy and getting in trouble, but I agree, lately mine have been horribly picky and mean to each other. And a 3 yr. old brother on Prednisilone doesn’t help either.

Leave a Reply

