Random Tuesday Thoughts: Are you serious?

Its Random Tuesday…  Hopefully, by now, you know the drill.  If not, go check out Keely.

  • Actual conversation that took place over the weekend. – 
    Bear: “I am hip, I know your game.”
    The Show: “Dad, the closest thing to hip that you are is breaking one!”
  • Taking the day off from work yesterday seriously messed with my blogging..  Don’t tell my boss! 😉
  • Have you ever noticed that when you are really ready for people to react one way, they do the complete opposite?  I think it is the universe’s way of keeping us on our toes.
  • My foot is getting almost completely back to normal.  So, I am walking at normal pace again, which is as fast as my little legs will carry me.  I find it strange that I missed walking quickly, so much.  I feel like I was moving in slow motion and now I am at regular pace again.  This could be dangerous for little old ladies in the supermarket who liked to run over my foot, in its fracture boot!
  • Mother’s Day is coming up…  and I have been seeing a ton of commercials.  I want to know when it came necessary to buy your mother $300 earrings to show you care.  Not that I don’t think my mom is worth $300 earrings but, it now seems like if you don’t spend all of your pay check, you are a horrible ungrateful child. 
  • Yesterday, I sat down with The Mother Hen to watch TV.  She was watching MTV’s Made.  Never having watched the show, I had no idea what I was getting into.  We were watching an episode where a girl wants to be a cheerleader because her mom was one and her mother doesn’t approve of her shy and individual behaviour. I can honestly say that I never have been more disgusted in my entire life.  I had to leave the room so that I wouldn’t go on an all out rant.  The girl has no self-confidence to speak of and her mother is constantly tearing her down through the first 15 minutes of the show.  I would say the whole show, but I honestly stopped watching. What a lovely message MTV!  – “Change because you will never be good enough as who you are!”  MTV has been once again banned in our house.
12 Responses to “Random Tuesday Thoughts: Are you serious?”

  1. Harriet

    Hey….blogging is good for productivity!

  2. Shaye

    I love today’s randomness!!

    I totally know what you mean on mother’s day stuff. We finally made the huge jump to no TV just a couple months ago. In the process, we sold our two main TVs and moved our big TV up to a large spare bedroom so that it was out of the way (and where we can all sprawl out on the bed in that room to watch something as a family). We get Netflix which allows us to watch many TV series and movies online (we hook our computer up to our big screen TV and our stereo system). I have to say that I’m so thankful we’re no longer seeing many commercials.

  3. Shaye

    I love today’s randomness!!

    I totally know what you mean on mother’s day commercials. We finally made the huge jump to no TV just a couple months ago. In the process, we sold our two main TVs and moved our big TV up to a large spare bedroom so that it was out of the way (and where we can all sprawl out on the bed in that room to watch something as a family). We get Netflix which allows us to watch many TV series and movies online (we hook our computer up to our big screen TV and our stereo system). I have to say that I’m so thankful we’re no longer seeing many commercials. It’s made a difference in what my kids talk about and ask for.

  4. Casey

    Here’s to TV corrupting our kid’s minds. Hahhaha, breaking a hip. Witty kid you’ve got there. Yay for your full speed walk! I hate walking in slow motion and I get so annoyed at the mall when I’m stuck in the slow lane.

  5. Sprite's Keeper

    So THAT’s why I stopped MTV. I thought it was just because their shows were crap. This is a much better excuse!

  6. HeatherPride

    So glad your foot is almost better! What a huge relief that must be.

    Funny comment from the Show. Hee hee. I’m putting that in my back pocket to use on my husband. (he’s 5 1/2 years older than I am. And I’m mean.)

  7. jenjw4

    Which do you think is sadder, not being hip, or having no idea that you are no longer hip?

    Either way, it’s better than breaking a hip!

  8. resplendentlife

    Yeah, MTV is great for blowing kids self-esteem. But this is what I want to know….did Mother Hen finish watching the show or did you make her turn it off? or ask her to turn it off? I’m new here, so I don’t how old she is.
    Happy RTT!!

  9. bex

    oh yes, MTV is rotten. but on digital cable we have an HD channel that is owned by MTV (i think) it plays only concerts and videos and only a few commercials here and there.

  10. Captain Dumbass

    Ouch. That breaking a hip comment had to sting.

  11. GreenJello

    I remember when MTV was actually Music Television. Those were the days….

  12. Kathi

    I am one of the biggest music fans I know [heehee] and have always called MTV *M*indless *T*ele*V*ision because ya dont need a brain to watch it..
    however-while watching CRAP TV with our kid, we would try discuss the topic [or lack of one-hehe] and use it as a “teachable moment”. every opportunity is one for learning-even stoopid TV shows.. we discovered quite a bit about our kids personality by discussing stuff while watching TV-even mindless tv, so it wasnt all bad..

Leave a Reply

