Around the World in 40 Plates*

Dinner at our house is always an interesting affair.  Between food allergies and picki-ness it is extremely hard to find a meal we all like.  Usually, 4 out of 5 will agree on something.  The 5th one will hate it with such a passion that we don’t have the mean again for a while.

This past weekend, I made my cream of potato soup.  And 4 out of 5 Tribe members approve.  The Tyrant hates potatoes with the fire of a thousand suns.  She won’t eat french fries, tater tots, mashed potatoes, potato skins, or anything remotely related to the potato in any form.  So when I announced my plan for dinner, she was almost in tears.  “Please, do I HAVE TO EAT IT??!?!?!?!?!” she cried.  I made her a deal.  I told her that I would make her whatever she wanted for dinner as long as it was not Honey Buns.  She requested tacos.  So, I made them.  She ate dinner, no body cried and even though I got some odd looks, I would call it a success. 

Earlier this week, we forgot to pull something out to defrost for dinner.  I was desprite and exhausted. So, I pulled this contraption out of the cupboard. 

I started making it when I realized, it had a ton of rice.  The Mother Hen won’t eat rice.  (Long story but she won’t even look at it for too long.)  So, I made her a chicken burger.  (They are kind of like turkey burgers without the nap.)  As, I was cooking, I realized that even though the box advertised 4 servings, we would be lucky if it fed two.  So, I make Mac and Cheese and started warming up some left overs, including taco meat.  Our dinner consisted of a little bit of everything.  Tacos, Chicken Fried Rice, Chicken Burgers, and Mac & Cheese.  From now on, we are going to make sure that something is pulled out of the freezer.

* – This is the phrase Bear coined for our meal.

3 Responses to “Around the World in 40 Plates*”

  1. Sprite's Keeper

    I think Bear was onto something with that! Sounds like fending at my house. The only one who gets a full meal is Sprite and we have things like soup or a sandwich, or the leftover brocolli from the night before.

  2. HeatherPride

    Oh yes, we have had those dinners in our home on many occasions. One of the downsides of introducing chicken dinosaur nuggets to my offspring. Now it’s the only thing he’ll eat.

  3. Casey

    I was wondering how you kept that many people happy with food. One of my biggest things that I’ve had to give up with the kids is the food wars. I still try to get healthy food into them but they won’t both eat the SAME healthy foods. It’s maddening.

Leave a Reply

