Wear a Helmet

Posted On June 4, 2009

Filed under life, self

Comments Dropped 5 responses

I have been thinking about the past a lot lately.  Maybe it is just that time of year or maybe it is some events that are going on.  Its probably a little a both.  I think it is important sometimes to take a look back on things as they were.  I also think it is important to remember that we should not dwell on the past.  Remember it and learn from it but don’t live in it.

Looking back on the past three years, I realize a lot of things.  First, that this step-mom gig has never been easy.  Second, I have really come a long way.  The first seems obvious, unless you see the girls and I together.  When people see us, they think that I must have some magic bullet or that it has always been easy for me.  It really hasn’t been.  You should have seen me in the beginning.  I made a lot of mistakes.

The second is not so obvious.  Over the past few years, I got out of a bad relationship, worked to fix the relationship that I had broken between my parents and myself, and got myself back.  If anybody out there is in the spot that I was in, I have some advice for you. First, wear a helmet, and consider body armor.  Second, keep moving and keep believing in yourself.  Never give up.  You can make it, I did.

5 Responses to “Wear a Helmet”

  1. Casey

    And I’m glad you did make it. I’ve said it before but I’ll say it again, the girls are lucky to have you.

  2. Tricia

    It’s all the helmet-worthy moments that make life great, right. Step family dynamics are never easy, but neither are traditional family dynamics. We just get our own set of conundrums, but it’s all good.

  3. Sprite's Keeper

    Great words to live by. Harder to see when you’re in the deep end, but once you get back to where you can wade, it’s nice to see how you came through it.

  4. Stacy (the Random Cool Chick)

    This part, in particular, stood out to me:

    “I think it is important sometimes to take a look back on things as they were. I also think it is important to remember that we should not dwell on the past. Remember it and learn from it but don’t live in it.”

    SO TRUE! I believe that the things you go through make you who you are – and I’m so glad you came out ‘the other side’ a stronger person. 🙂 ((HUGZ!))

  5. Naoko

    This is a test comment from WordPress.com support.

Leave a Reply

