Spin Cycle: Green Eyed Monsters

Posted On June 26, 2009

Filed under Bear, The Spin Cycle

Comments Dropped 8 responses

I am not normally the jealous type.  Bear is a gigantic flirt and always has been.  The only person that he is not a smooth talker with is me.  I think that he can be a smooth talker when he doesn’t mean it.  Because when he tries to be like that with me, he gets all tongue tied.  He always has a smile, a wink or a hug for the ladies he knows.  I actually like that about him.

There is one thing that will make me outragously jealous…  if a woman makes a meal special for him.  Not if they go out to lunch and she pays but when she actually cooks for him.  Two years at his work’s holiday party, one of the girls made a dessert that he really loved.  (It was called Mud.  Cool-whip, chocolate pudding and Oreos.)  So, last year, she said she was going to make it again especially for him.  I was so angry and offended.  I wanted to march in there and say, “HE’S TAKEN!!”  I am not entirely sure where the food jealousy comes from.  But, he was seriously shocked that I was upset.  He even offered to not eat the dessert.    (Isn’t he awesome?)  In the end, he ended up eatting the dessert and no harm came to the woman that prepared it.

8 Responses to “Spin Cycle: Green Eyed Monsters”

  1. Sprite's Keeper

    I actually understand completely. Cooking can be seen as personal and if a woman were to make something specifically for John, I would raise some questions about why she’s going out of her way to do it. But it sounds like you make him speechless when talking to women is usually easy for him. That’s love! You’re linked!

  2. Camille

    My mother-in-law makes her carrot cake for her son’s birthday every year. She won’t let me make it. Even though I know she can make it better than I can (I don’t even LIKE carrot cake!) it’s still kind of annoying. I totally understand where you’re coming from.

  3. Mama Badger

    Makes complete sense to me. I get weirded out if people do an “out of the way” think like cook for my husband if there’s not a specific reason (like a thank you for a favor or something). Sometimes it’s hard to accept when people are just being nice for no reason!

  4. Maureen at IslandRoar

    I get this. When my kids try food at other people’s houses that they won’t try for me, I am highly insulted. It’s very personal.

  5. gigidiaz

    Food is very personal, especially when someone else is making something you don’t make and he is enjoying it…. However, he sounds great, like he’s satisfy you even in your food jealousies (no matter how silly they must seem to him since you know guys never usually understand stuff like this) He reminds me of The Boyfriend. He might not understand some of my crazies, but he tries his best to cater to them all.

  6. gigidiaz

    Oh yeah… great spin!

  7. Tricia

    Cooking and sharing food can be so intimate and personal. It’s always interesting what buttons we develop in our relationships.

  8. Casey

    I get the food jealousy but since I don’t cook… I can’t stand in the way of anyone who does.

Leave a Reply

