The Kitchen Table: A.K.A Not a dumping ground!

Posted On July 27, 2009

Filed under family, frustration

Comments Dropped 2 responses

All weekend long, people were leaving me presents on the kitchen table.  Dirty clothes, shoes, socks, toys, books and just about anything that you can think of non-food related.  Several times a day, I was asking people to remove their belongs from the table.

Before we left for the fruit market, I commited the same crime.  I left my laptop on the table.  When we got back, we were soaking wet, because I accidently left the sun roof open while we were inside and it decided to rain.  All the wet items ended up on the table.  Including a wet stuffed tiger that landed right on my laptop.  I shouted at the top of my lungs, “This is not a dumping ground!!” and start placing all the belongings on the floor. 

I seriously lost my temper and was pretty ticked off for the rest of the day because I was told I was being mean.  Parenting is not a popularity contest but I felt like I was being taken advantage of because I had been nice about it the whole weekend until the soggy pet landed on my computer.  I am not sure how to fix this one but I am feeling a lot better about it today.  I am just going to have to make sure that I don’t leave my laptop their anymore.

2 Responses to “The Kitchen Table: A.K.A Not a dumping ground!”

  1. Maureen at IslandRoar

    Kitchen counters and tables are always dangerous places to leave “mom” valuables. No matter how much I yell, crap gets left there. Hope your computer’s okay.

  2. Casey

    Our counter is such a dumping ground and it drives me insane. I’m usually the culprit though. Glad your laptop survived the wet tiger!

Leave a Reply

