Friends

Posted On July 31, 2009

Filed under life, The Spin Cycle

Comments Dropped 5 responses

I have never been a social butterfly.  As a kid, you were more likely to find me with my nose in a book then in a group of kids.  I have always been quiet and shy.  I prefer it that way.  I have as many friends as you can count on one hand.  But, they are friends that I can count on.

My brother on the other hand has always been a social butterfly.  He had so many friends that I couldn’t remember all of their names.  People would wave to me and I didn’t have any idea who they were, but they were a friend of my brother’s.  I just got use to waving to strangers because trying to learn all of their names and who they are would have taken me a life-time.

Over the years, I have lost touch we a few friends and gained some new ones.  Some times I lost touch with people on purpose.  But for the last nine years, my best friend has remained the same.  I hope that it never changes.  He tells me the truth, even when I don’t want to hear it.  He has my back when I need him.  But he lets me fight on my own.  I have been a little disconnected from him lately. I hope that we can get back to the way we are soon.

5 Responses to “Friends”

  1. Sprite's Keeper

    I hope so too. Sometimes the best confidence booster is just knowing that someone has your back.
    You’re linked!

  2. Mama Badger

    Time to reach out and touch someone. If you’re feeling disconnected, do something special. I agree with SK, just knowing that person is there really makes life easier some days. Have a good weekend. MB

  3. Maureen at IslandRoar

    I know. Life is busy, but we have to make an effort. It sounds like he’s important to you. I’ll bet he misses you too.

  4. Captain Dumbass

    You’re lucky to have that. Sadly, we’ve drifted away from all of our friends. Aside from bloggers, we’re kinda hermits.

  5. Casey

    I’ve always had a handful of friends too, the good kind that you can count on. That’s the best kind.

Leave a Reply

