Disappointed

By now, you have probably heard about Chris Brown and Rihanna.  I am truly disappointed by the sentencing that they are planning to give Brown.  Community service and probation just don’t seem like enough.  I know of several cases in California where people went to jail for lesser crimes.  I personally know someone who went to jail in California for a similar crime. 

To me, this judge is sending a message that is loud and clear…  If you have enough money you can do whatever you want and get away with a slap on the wrist.  But then again, we have seen that so many times, I really shouldn’t be surprised.  I am surprised and disappointed every time it happens though.  Maybe I put too much faith in people or in our justice system. 

Beating up someone smaller and weaker than you, regardless of gender, should always be a crime.  And it should be punished severely.   Cases like this one that are all over the news only reinforce the beliefs of bullies of the world.  We, as a society, should fight harder to protect the weak from the strong.  And prevent the strong from being evil by allowing them to get away with it.

4 Responses to “Disappointed”

  1. Sprite's Keeper

    I just can’t care too much about either of them. I know she was a victim, but if she is willing and outspoken in reducing the restraining order, she is a fool.
    His ability to get off with a slap on the hand just shows how the judicial system can be bought.

  2. Casey

    I’ve half followed the case and they’re both idiots. I understand the victim mentality but still, enough is enough.

  3. Tricia

    There is so, so, so much of this throughout the country where men who are guilty of violence against women or children get a slap on the hand and the populous turns our collective heads. Drives me batty.

  4. Life of a Stepmama

    I agree I could really care less about either of them but regardless he should have received a real punishment, something to make him stop and think before doing that again.

    I am surprised by the sentencing; it is not often a celebrity gets abused by another that publicly. I figured since she had as much if not more money then him, they would really try to make this case an example. Guess I was wrong.

Leave a Reply

