Is it paranoia if someone is really trying to get you?

Posted On August 17, 2009

Filed under Bear, life, self

Comments Dropped 6 responses

While we were on vacation last week, we spent a few days with Bear’s brother in law.  We shall call him WildChild.  Not that he is a child but he does have all the cool toys.  We went tubing with WildChild’s boat.  While he was driving he spent most of the time trying to tip us off.  When he was riding, he was climbing on other people tubes and flipping people over.  At one point, I commented to Bear, “I think he is trying to kill me.”   Bear looked at me with a grin and said, “Yeah, we talked about it.  He doesn’t like you.  He is trying to kill you.”

I thought he was joking.  I really did.  But that was before the PowerChute.  WildChild got his favorite toy back.  A PowerChute or Ultralite.  Its basically a go cart with a propeller and parachute.  The propelling fills the chute and you fly.  WildChild and the Flying Machine

This is WildChild doing test flight before taking Bear for a ride.

Later that night, it was my turn for a trip up in the sky.  I was looking forward to it because he had taken me up once before. There is nothing like it.  It is like a roller-coaster ride but you can’t see when the bumps are coming.  It is really quite a ride.

As we were flying, we were going all over the place.  We flew over farms, trees, houses, a high school and the lake.  As we started to cross the lake, we started to have engine problems.  The engine was sputtering and we were losing altitude.  WildChild, is a licensed flyer and he navigated us over the lake.  We were hovering for what felt like an eternity.  The whole time, I was thinking, dammit, I hope my cell phone doesn’t get wet.

Murky Water

The brown area on the top of the picture is actually the lake very close to shore.  The water is about waist deep.

Hovering

The lake is not far from Bear’s parents house.  He is taking this picture from the front yard while we are slowly getting closer to the water.  I am not sure what was going through his mind at this point.

We did not crash land, but we did have to make an in-flight repair to the fuel pump.  Even if he is trying to kill me, I can’t wait to go next year!

6 Responses to “Is it paranoia if someone is really trying to get you?”

  1. Life of a Stepmama

    Looks like fun, what a crazy ride!

  2. Sprite's Keeper

    Looks like so much fun! (I think I’ll stay close to the ground though.)

  3. Jenny

    Wow. You are brave. That looks cool.

  4. Casey

    Uh, midair repairs? That’s a little scary for my taste. It does look like fun though…glad you survived the trip!

  5. Jamie

    Wow that sounds super cool!!! I want to try it!!!

  6. Maureen at IslandRoar

    Oh man, I want to go!
    I’ve always wanted to try parasailing over water. This looks like just as much fun.

Leave a Reply

