Bookworm

Posted On August 20, 2009

Filed under self, The Spin Cycle

Comments Dropped 3 responses

Growing up, I spent a lot of time reading.  My Mom and I spent a lot of time at the used book store.  We would trade in our old ones and buy new ones.  My Mom is an avid reader too.  To date, I think we have over $5000 in book credit at our favorite used book store.  I still care a book with me everywhere I go.  I currently have two books in my purse.  I prefer to read rather than watch TV.  I have lost several hours of sleep reading because I couldn’t put a book down. 

It is very rare for me to read a book over and over again.  But, there is one that I will read several times and never get bored.  That book is Legend by David Gemmell.  I love this book because the heroes are very human rather than super-human.  They have normal problems as well as extraordinary problems.  The battles they fight are not only on the battlefield but within themselves as they struggle to do what is right. 

I have read several books by Gemmell and I enjoyed every one of them.  Unfortunately, he passed away when he was in the middle of writing his last book.  Troy: Fall of Kings was finished by his wife Stella Gemmell.  For me that book was bittersweet.  It was a great read, but I knew it would be the last.

3 Responses to “Bookworm”

  1. Sprite's Keeper

    I’ve never read Legend, but I will put that on my list now.
    Great Spin!
    You’re linked!

  2. Jamie

    I also have never read Legend, but now I will have to! Thanks!

  3. Life of a Stepmama

    I love to read as well and am currently reading 2 books. I have lost many hours of sleep over not being able to put a book down. Finishing a book always makes me a little sad, sounds like a great read. I will have to check it out.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

