Birthdays, Ugh…

Posted On September 4, 2009

Filed under bonding time, family, The Spin Cycle

Comments Dropped 5 responses

I never really liked my birthday.  I always hating being the center of attention.  I did not want big class parties when I was in school and I didn’t want everyone to sing to me.  My parents were always great about it.  They would plan a night out for dinner and we would open our presents at home.

Now that I am a WickedStepMom, my birthday is no longer about me.  And I like it that way.  My birthday is now about 3 amazing girls sneaking around the house trying to hide what they are up to.  Its about them making me a cake, just like I do for them.  I think I prefer things this way.  Even though I am the center of attention, it is really more about teaching them how wonderful it is to do for others.

 

The post is brought to you by the Spin Cycle!

5 Responses to “Birthdays, Ugh…”

  1. Sprite's Keeper

    Oh, I love your second paragraph. I can just picture your three girls being secretive and trying to surprise you with goodies and presents. I can’t wait until I get my first handmade birthday card from Sprite, when she actually thinks of doing it herself. Awesome!
    You’re linked!

  2. HeatherPride

    I love that the girls want to make your day special for you!

  3. Maureen@IslandRoar

    That’s so nice. And you’re enjoying it because it’s for them. Very sweet Spin.

  4. Maureen@IslandRoar

    Hey, I have an award for you over on my site. It’s okay if you don’t want to “play;” just wanted to say I love your posts.

  5. Casey

    Ok, that’s sweet. I hadn’t thought about it but you’re right… birthdays are about the kids now. I like it.

Leave a Reply

