WSM’s Got Talent!

Posted On September 11, 2009

Filed under parenting, self, The Spin Cycle

Comments Dropped 5 responses

Well, actually, I don’t.  But I was hoping that the headline would grab your attention for a moment at least.  I have never been considered the best at one thing or another.  I generally fit right in the middle when it comes to sports, video games or other contests.  I can in-line skate well and I do think I may be better than average.  But, beyond that, I can’t really think of anything.

When I asked someone what talent I had, in their opinion…  I was told “You are great with computers!”  I never really considered that a talent though.  I mean, yeah I am better than average in some areas but in others, I am completely lost when it comes to computers.  I can’t design a circuit to save my life, but I can reboot someone’s computer from mine.  So, I guess that is something. 

I think the problem is that I never settle.  I am always trying to learn something new and I am always trying to be better.  My theory with computers or anything else is, if I can do it, someone else out there can do it better.  I wonder what this is teaching the girls.  Is it sending the message that I want to send?  Should I spend more time acknowledging my own talents to help them acknowledge theirs? 

I am not sure that I have an answer to those questions.  I do want them to know what they do well but I also think that a person should always spend time trying to learn more.  I believe that the more you learn, the more you understand.  And the more you understand, the better off you are.  I hope that is the message that I am sending.  I hope that they are not reading my lack of settling as though I feel I am not good enough.

(This rambling introspective is proudly brought to you by The Spin Cycle and the letter C.)

5 Responses to “WSM’s Got Talent!”

  1. Sprite's Keeper

    I do think computer skills are a talent. Some have it, others don’t. I DON’T. John didn’t know he did until we bought a Gateway back in 2000 and he started tinkering, found he liked it, took a job at a call center helping trouble shoot computers, learned as he went, got his MCSE, and now spends his days going from computer problem to computer problem and loves it. All from just playing with a Gateway. So, yes, it’s a talent. And the fact that you love to learn and always strive to get to that next level when others are just fine with the status quo? MAJOR talent. You’re linked!

  2. Sharon

    I think you can be self-confident and still have a love of learning. Both things are important and I don’t think they are contradictory.

  3. Maureen@IslandRoar

    The fact that you love to learn is showing the girls something very valuable. But I think all of us women need to acknowledge our strengths out loud a little more. We’re a lot more talented than we give ourselves credit for!

  4. HeatherPride

    Never settling is never a problem! It makes us do better and be better! I happen to think you’re great, and I bet the girls do, too.

  5. Casey

    Hey, not settling IS a talent. So is fixing computers, one which probably comes back to bite you in the arse every time a family member calls for tech support.

Leave a Reply

