Feed them, and they will tell you anything

One of the things that is really important to us, is having dinner together as a family.  Whenever possible, which is most days a week, we sit down and have dinner together.  It gives us all a chance to catch up on what is going on in our lives.  Forms can be signed, homework can be discussed and plans can be worked out.  It is time we dedicate just to the Tribe and it is something that we do not budge on.

What I didn’t realize though waas that sitting down and watching TV or a movie together can have the same effect.  The Mother Hen, The Show and I really enjoy The Gilmore Girls.  I own the DVDs for all seasons but the last.  And The Mother Hen has been watching them in marathon form when she is finished with her homework.  Last night, I sat down and watched it with her.  We commented on the show and talked about life in general.  I learned a lot about the way she thinks and sees the world last night.  I am looking forward to watching another episode with her tonight.

4 Responses to “Feed them, and they will tell you anything”

  1. Sprite's Keeper

    That is awesome. Who knew the Gilmore Girls would open up other windows to each other?

  2. Jamie

    Sounds like wonderful bonding time.

  3. Maureen@IslandRoar

    It’s so true; my very obnoxious 18 year old daughter and I bonded thru watching TV, no matter how bad things got. I watched some of her crap (America’s Next Top Model; unfortunately now I’m hooked), and she watched some great movies with me. You gotta take it where it comes with kids, right?

  4. Casey

    I love the idea of family time, we do it here too. And I love GG. Jamie watched all of the episodes back to back a few years ago.

Leave a Reply

