What is bravery?

Posted On November 20, 2009

Filed under life, parenting, The Spin Cycle, The Tribe

Comments Dropped 5 responses

I am sure that by now, my girls are tired of hearing me say “Bravery is not the absence of fear…  Its being scared out of your mind and doing it anyway.”  I know I have told them this at least 20 times each.  They always nod their heads but I wonder if they truly understand what I am saying.  So, in case they are wondering…

– Risking your life wouldn’t be brave, if people didn’t fear death.

– Performing on stage wouldn’t be brave, if stage fright did not exist.

– Going to a new school wouldn’t be brave, if you knew that you would have all new friends by the end of the day.

– Trying a new sport wouldn’t be brave, if you already had the skills to do it.

– Standing on a tall building or crossing a tall bridge wouldn’t be brave, if there was no chance that you could fall.

Fear is what leads to bravery.  Without it, we would never be scared to do anything.  Without fear, no one can be brave.

5 Responses to “What is bravery?”

  1. Maureen@IslandRoar

    Great advice. Hopefully they’ll think of it every time they’re scared. And the wise woman who gave it to them.

  2. Sprite's Keeper

    Oh thank goodness! I couldn’t get into your post all day! Finally! And I agree completely. Bravery without fear is not bravery. Love it! You’re linked!

  3. Amy @ Six Flower Mom

    I agree! Wise words.

  4. Noelle

    I love your wonderful, funny perspective on a life that I have already lived (step mom) and am now grandparenting. I loved it, my husband’s daughter lived with us full time until she went to college, she’s now in law school, not something that I can legitimately take any credit for, but I like to kid myself sometimes. I wonder how your husbands ex fits into your lives, you handle it all so well.
    Anyway, I just wanted you to know that I love reading what you have to say each morning, it’s kind of like the Adair Lara column that I used to read in the SF Chronicle when we lived on the West Coast.
    I have a cousin who lives on MV, name of Suzie Koorse, I wonder if you know her…
    Thanks for your great writing.
    Noelle

  5. Kathi

    well spoken wicked one!!
    and dont forget-bravery is standing up for YOUR OWN values and not just winging it with the crowd.. i think that might be the heardest thing for teens to do – believe in themselves and their own brains/thought processes/Hearts and not float like kelp on a current like most other teens/young people.
    i sure miss MY stinky teenager!!
    i always remember that is was HIM who kept me ‘sharp’ and ‘current’.
    we can learn from them, too. :>D
    Kathi

Leave a Reply

