Wondering on Wednesday: No boys allowed!

Posted On December 9, 2009

Filed under life, Mystery, Out of my element

Comments Dropped 3 responses

I have heard a lot lately about single sexed education.  They separate the boys and the girls into different classes because boys and girls learn and develop skills differently and at different rates.  The theory is that boys tend to get wrongly diagnosed with ADD and ADHD because teachers are not teaching to that audience. 

What do you think?  Should boys and girls be separated?  Do boys and girls learn at different rates?

Personally, I would like the separation just so that my girls are less distracted by boys…  but that is just me. 🙂

3 Responses to “Wondering on Wednesday: No boys allowed!”

  1. Maureen@IslandRoar

    I am so not sure about this. On the surface it sounds convincing. I think my older daughter would have maybe spoken up more in a single-sex classroom, but there are plenty of loud girls too. My younger daughter is one of them.
    I think maybe boys actually benifit more from this. Public schools (and many private) really teach to the girl personality: not as active, more focused and disciplined. Every teacher that had my older daughter raved about her; she’s very smart but such a “good” girl, that it started to piss me off. My younger daughter is just as bright, but speaks out more and is more social. She’s definitely judged more by her teachers. And my son, 22 now, had a tough time. He’s so smart, but Mr. ADHD (I’m actually posting a little about this tomorrow). Teachers got frustrated with him and decided he just isn’t trying, the classic “under-acheiver.” While many boys do fine sitting in class and paying attention, many more do not. Sometimes I feel really sad that we are not meeting their needs. My son still struggles with so many self-discipline and focusing issues. Too bad our schools can’t address this instead of teaching to the perfect student.
    Maybe boys and girls should be separated for academic subjects (since they learn so differently) and brought together for all the specials. Because I’d hate to see them not have that interaction every day.
    Wow, that was a long convoluted answer. Sorry. Great topic!

    • awickedstepmom

      Maureen:
      I love your response. I agree that keeping boys and girls isolated all day may not be the best of plans. I think teachers teach to the majority of students. And the out-lying ones have to get extra help or something else to be able to keep up.

  2. stepmumoftheyear

    My school trialled separating boys and girls for maths, science and physical education when I was in my third year of high school.

    Apparently these are the areas where girls don’t “step up to the plate” as well if there are boys present, but they left us together for the rest of the subjects.

    It was great to have the chance to learn these traditionally “boy” subjects in a non-threatening environment. It must have worked, because the school stuck with it.

Leave a Reply

