Parenting Blunder # ??

Okay, so I have lost count of the number of parenting mistakes I have made.  But, this is a pretty good one.  At least, it is an amusing one.

The Setup:

Friday night – I found fruit snack wrappers, empty juice boxes and various other food related trash all over the living room. 

Saturday morning – I found pop corn in the basement, left in a bowl on the floor.  I told The Show she could not have food in the basement anymore.

Saturday afternoon – I found popsicle wrappers and fruit snack wrappers on the floor in the living room. I told The Tyrant no more fruit snacks or popsicles in the living room.

The Crime:

Sunday morning – I found popcorn all over the floor and wrapped up in The Show’s blanket, in the basement.

I shouted, “The Show, get down here and clean up your mess now!”

The Show cames downstairs and said something like, “But, but but..”  I used my firm, you are in trouble voice, “I thought I told you no more popcorn in the basement!  I trusted you not to do it.  And you went behind my back”

The Show burst into tears.  “WickedStepMom, I swear after you told me no food in the basement I didn’t have any.  I know that is my blanket but The Mother Hen was down here last night, not me.”

She was right.  She didn’t have food down there and she was only down there for a few minutes.  I am such a jerk…

3 Responses to “Parenting Blunder # ??”

  1. Maureen@IslandRoar

    Join the club (The Jerk Club). It’s a very crowded place; every parent I know is in it from time to time.

  2. Keely

    I already feel like that half the time and my kid’s only two. Can’t wait until he’s old enough to be AWARE that I’m an idiot.

  3. stepmumoftheyear

    I think this is commonly known as a “Misunderstanding”!

    If you didn’t come out swinging with the kettle cord you *may* not have committed such a massive crime?!

Leave a Reply

