The Spin Cycle: New Boots

Posted On December 11, 2009

Filed under Bear, The Spin Cycle

Comments Dropped 3 responses

It has become kind of tradition for Bear to get me new boots during the X-mas season.  I love this gift because all winter long, my feet are warm and dry.  This may not seem like a big deal but when you living in Michigan and have questionable health anything that can keep you from getting sick, is the best thing ever.

This year, in addition to my boots, he got me a balaclava.  It’s a neoprene face mask that covers my nose and mouth.  Since the cold air sends me into coughing fits, this thing totally rocks.  I get a warm face and warm breath without the bulkiness of a scarf.  It is really a win-win.

The other day, Bear expressed concern that this was not enough for me.  Some of his coworkers were commenting that woman like “romantic” gifts.  And that she could be buying me jewelry not winter gear.  This guys can take a long walk off a short pier.  I happen to be allergic to most jewelry.  (I know, go figure, right?)  Nothing says romance like hives! 

I told him that I am very happy with my gifts.  To me, keeping me healthy is better than a trinket that I can look at.  It shows me he cares because he make sure that I am safe and warm.  Maybe, I should have held out for organic ice cream?

3 Responses to “The Spin Cycle: New Boots”

  1. Sprite's Keeper

    Romance is making you happy, not making you sparkle, unless that makes you happy.. 🙂
    I’m allergic to costume jewelry myself. Green skin anyone?
    You’re linked!

  2. Maureen@IslandRoar

    Aw, I think it’s sweet. First I thought you said “baclava,” the pastry, and I thought OOOKAAAAY….
    But that sounds cool; I hate when the face gets so cold.

  3. stepmumoftheyear

    What a lovely man you must have, not just to buy you what you really need but to check in with you that it’s also what you really want.

    Happy New Bootsmas!

Leave a Reply

