We can be right…

Posted On January 27, 2010

Filed under Bear, parenting, The Mother Hen

Comments Dropped 3 responses

If you are a parent to a teenager, you know one thing better than anyone else…  no matter what you say, you are probably wrong (at least to the teenagers).  And if you tell them more than once, you are definately wrong.

So, when the opportunity to say, “we can be right” came up last night, Bear had to run with it…

The Mother Hen: Mrs. [Geometry teacher] said that since I have been working so hard on my math and staying after school with her to work, whatever grade I get on my final, I will get in the class.  She wants to see my hard work pay off and knows that since I didn’t do well in the beginning, it could really hamper my grade.

Bear: How does that make you feel?

The Mother Hen: Pretty good.

Bear: Remember I told you that if you show that you are trying, the teachers will work with you?  So, maybe we can be right.

The Mother Hen: Yeah, I know, Dad.  You were right.  (Insert frustrated sigh here…)

3 Responses to “We can be right…”

  1. mean_owen

    What’s funny is how often they admit that we were right after the fact, but somehow, when we’re actually giving the advice, they always forget.

  2. Kimberly Hosey (AZ Writer)

    Oh, gosh. Don’t tell me it gets WORSE when they’re teenagers (she says as if she’s never heard this before). Mine is already contrary about the dumbest things. The other day — Me: Go change your pants. Him (clearly wearing vivid red pants): I’m not WEARING any pants.

    Ugh. Maybe I’ll just pretend he’s never going to age past 12.

  3. Maureen@IslandRoar

    Wow, and she admitted he was right??
    My daughter would’ve had some reason why we hadn’t really said Exactly that, so we weren’t Really right…

Leave a Reply

